CAD software discussion forum > CAD > Bug: Find doesn't search within a block

Bug: Find doesn't search within a block

Rank: 1

Aaron

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2009-7-25

Message 1 of 10

18-06-2009 11:11 . pm | View his/her posts only
The FIND command seems to have a bug- it doesn't find text in block attributes, even with every check box picked in the options area of the dialog.

We've been doing the IntelliCAD musical chairs routine, trying to pick which one to go with. So far, ZWCAD was looking like the winner, but something like this is a dealbreaker. Anyone know of a fix? Thanks!

Aaron

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 2 of 10

19-06-2009 02:54 . pm | View his/her posts only
Actually it works fine in our latest version.
Please upgrade your ZWCAD to the latest version.


Update patch for Standard Edition:


http://download.zwcad.com/en/exeUpdater/20090512/V9EngStd20090512.exe


Update patch for Professional Edition:


http://download.zwcad.com/en/exeUpdater/20090512/V9EngPro20090512.exe

Rank: 1

Aaron

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2009-7-25

Message 3 of 10

23-06-2009 04:48 . am | View his/her posts only
Hrmm. I'm already running V9-20090512, though maybe that's a patch *for* 20090512 rather than an installer for 20090512? I'll install it and let you know.

We've also been having some big problems with XREFs, but I'll write those up in another thread. Thanks!

Thanks!

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 4 of 10

23-06-2009 11:38 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi, RevAaron
Do you mean that you could not find attribute text which has not been fastened to a block? Actually neither could AutoCAD do so...

But after you making blocks with these attributes, you could find the attributes without any problem.

Rank: 1

Aaron

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2009-7-25

Message 5 of 10

26-06-2009 10:35 . pm | View his/her posts only
I mean finding attribute text that *is* fastened to a block. Using the same attributes/blocks and the same DWG files, the search works fine in AutoCAD 2005-2009 and the most recent versions of progeCAD and BricsCAD.

I can provide a file with an example if that'd be helpful.

Thanks!

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 6 of 10

29-06-2009 10:23 . am | View his/her posts only

Hello RevAaron,


You are a careful person! Thanks for your feedback!


According to your issue, I

Rank: 1

Aaron

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2009-7-25

Message 7 of 10

30-06-2009 01:42 . am | View his/her posts only
I did find that ZWCAD did manage a search and replace within block in a new file I made; however, in the files I'm working with it did not. These are *not* Xrefs- they are blocks that live within the file.

I'll upload a file a little later for you to try. Many thanks for the reply!

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 8 of 10

30-06-2009 08:51 . am | View his/her posts only
Waiting for you! I think your file will be very helpful for our researching, thanks in advanced. Smile

Rank: 1

Aaron

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2009-7-25

Message 9 of 10

01-07-2009 11:52 . pm | View his/her posts only
My apologies about the delay! Had to get approval, even though I took out anything related to the project. Anywho, here's one of the drawings, though I did take out everything but the offending blocks as an example.

I did check again with AutoCAD 2005 and 2009 and Bricscad, and the search and replace does work for this file.

20090701_221134_zwcad-test.dwg

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 10 of 10

02-07-2009 06:01 . pm | View his/her posts only


Thank you very much!Smile

See also