CAD software discussion forum > Other CAD/CAM Technology > revsurf not working for complex polyline

revsurf not working for complex polyline

Rank: 1

myfriendhenry

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2010-4-9

Message 1 of 8

08-04-2010 06:39 . am | View his/her posts only


I think that I understand how to use revsurf and works on simple objects for me. I created a polyline object, closed it. I ran revsurf, selected the polyline object, selected a line for the pivot point when prompted. No love. Not sure if there is some limitation in the trial period or what. I AM able to revsurf the small circle (a spring) quite nicely, I undid it in the attached file. That also needs to be revsurf'ed.


Here is the dwg file, I was not sure how to move everything that I did from the layout1 over to the model, so i just copy/pasted it.

Anyway, this should look like a nice round oil seal, that is the goal!

thanks to anyone who may shed the light.

I tested this link, doesnt work now....i will upload again tommorow.

uploads/20100408_204311_Final.dwg
myfriendhenry2010-04-08 20:43:57

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 2 of 8

08-04-2010 02:51 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hello myfriendhenry, you mean a complex polyline in the drawing you uploaded cannot be revsurf'ed, right? Besides, you can send the drawing to our technical mail box tech@zwcad.com as well as some description about the problem such as the version of ZWCAD you are using so that we can make an analysis and try to find a solution for you.
Thank you for your help in advance!

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 3 of 8

 revsurf not working for complex polyline
08-04-2010 06:18 . pm | View his/her posts only
When you try to revsurf the object what error message are you getting?

Did you try extruding the circle along a path?Tesla2010-04-08 19:09:07

Rank: 1

myfriendhenry

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2010-4-9

Message 4 of 8

08-04-2010 08:55 . pm | View his/her posts only
I sent the file to tech support and the version is 2009.12.31(14244). I don't see any error message (unless Im not looking in the correct place)
Here is the output:
Command: REVSURF
Select a linear entity to revolve:
Select the axis of revolution:
Angle to begin surface of revolution <0>:
Degrees to revolve entity (+ for ccw, - for cw <360>:

(nothing below this line and nothing changes in the display)
The final product should be a round oil seal, like a complicated doughnut.
Tesla> extruude along a path results in the following:
Command: EXTRUDE
Select entities:
Entities in set: 1
Select entities:
Specify height of extrusion or Path: 100
Specify angle of taper for extrusion <0>:
1 selected curves are rejected

Rank: 1

myfriendhenry

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2010-4-9

Message 5 of 8

08-04-2010 09:23 . pm | View his/her posts only
I found the problem, I had retraced a section and the polyline was not completly open in the middle. That retraced line, appeared to split the polyline into two peices and was mucking it up. Im sure this is a rookie mistake! Thanks for ur time.
By the way, excellent software!!!
myfriendhenry2010-04-08 22:45:47

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 6 of 8

 revsurf not working for complex polyline
08-04-2010 06:18 . pm | View his/her posts only
Glad to hear you found the problem.

I've made a few of my own rookie mistakes along the way. As long as we learn from them it isn't a totally bad thing.

Where are you located by the way?

How long have you been using ZwCAD?

Did you use any other CAD software prior to ZwCAD?Tesla2010-04-08 23:30:10

Rank: 1

myfriendhenry

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2010-4-9

Message 7 of 8

09-04-2010 03:48 . am | View his/her posts only
Yes, a rather nice and intuitive product, I really like the commmand line option when you create a script to follow. I have a grand total of about 2 hours using the product. I have never used a mech cad program before, schematic design PCB routing etc yes. Im in Sterling, VA.

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 8 of 8

 revsurf not working for complex polyline
08-04-2010 06:18 . pm | View his/her posts only
Thanks for the replies.

I just started using it. Long time AutoCAD user though.

I'm north of you just outside of Hartford, CT.

See also