CAD software discussion forum > CAD > Issues with Blocks

Issues with Blocks

OldForumPost

Message 1 of 16

Issues with Blocks
24-08-2010 10:13 . am | View his/her posts only
How do I view all blocks in a manager style window to view thumbnails and select/delete etc.?
I cannot actually see how to delete blocks..!
This could be an issue. I have hundreds of blocks of various components and need to be able to see them all at a glance for insertion, deletion or editing etc. (As I have become accustomed with CADopia) Especially since ZWCAD has the Acad option of "Paste as Block" which gives the new block a random character type name. Which means I'd need to see it as a thumbnail (among MANY) before selecting it for insertion.

Excuse my ignorance, I am new at this software and I wish to be certain it will be suitable before purchasing.

Any help on this would be ... Awesome.!

OldForumPost

Message 2 of 16

Issues with Blocks
Dear Damo,

Of course we have this kind of "manager style window" to view Blocks in thumbnails. That is called Design Center in ZWCAD.

You can open it at Tools-> Design Center, or just click the icon on toolbar.
Just follow this screenshot below:

You can find all your blocks included in the current drawing here. And drag and drop them easily into drawing area.

Enjoy it!Wink

OldForumPost

Message 3 of 16

Issues with Blocks
Yes Yes Yes... Thanks Daniel.

That's the thumbnail views I was looking for.
And I can detach it and open it BIG to reopen where I put it last time. Cool..!

Although I still don't see how to delete a block. (maybe I'm not looking in the correct place)

I guess it doesn't really matter. They don't hurt much being there.
(Maybe makes the dwg file larger than needs be), But I would like to be able to delete some occasionally.

Also is there a properties (or something like it) to tell me which layer any given block is on?

Thanks again very much for your help Daniel..!

OldForumPost

Message 4 of 16

Issues with Blocks