CAD software discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > Beta 2012 sketcher questions?

Beta 2012 sketcher questions?

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 314

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 1 of 7

 Beta 2012 sketcher questions?
23-01-2012 07:53 . am | View his/her posts only
The new interface is interesting BUT:Some VERY ESSENTIAL things are being removed or made ambiguous or adding click effort.
It is likely that almost 80% of modelling uses a small number of tools.
For ease of use and efficiency these high use tools need to readily accessible.

In sketcher for instance. RMB Draw is no longer available. Yet the very reason you pen a sketch is to draw! So why remove if from the RMB menu and force people to use the Ribbon.

Solver Button should be a large target with very obvious colour change.
My Suggestion is a single traffic light type icon: (The current icon doesn't actually convey solve or regen)
Green - all is good
Orange - solve is required
Red - solve has a problem

the 'Show target' ICON should be always accessible.

Could the 'F1 to more details' be removed for ALL icon helps - it is really just clutter. F1 is a universal Window Help key - if a user doesn't know that, then CAD is not the place to learn it.

I really hope careful consideration is being made to make Z3 easy to use for ALL types of operators.

On a positive note: A brief check of 2D and I really like the improvements being made.
Just need some decent drawing sheet templates

Cheers Paul

Rank: 2

Mike

Assistant Engineer

posts: 14

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 2 of 7

23-01-2012 10:58 . am | View his/her posts only
Reply 1# mudcrab


The draw is there RMB top left of the exit icon. The new interface takes some getting use to. I am not so fast now! My gut says it is going to be good. The merge icon should also be in the shape menu, like it used to be. Just a thought.

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 314

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 3 of 7

23-01-2012 12:47 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hmmm, yeap, I think I am suffering from change overload. Found it.

I think the icons can end up trying to tell a story they don't need too.

For instance we have a segment line with '1' and '2' in the icon.

Well all lines require 2 points, but further, 1/2 is one half.
I think simplicity and consistency is important.

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 314

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 4 of 7

23-01-2012 01:00 . pm | View his/her posts only
Just noticed in 2012 - You HAVE to hold down Ctrl to multi pick. YUCK. This is old, old, even ancient thinking that cripples joints and causes arthritis.
Please NOOOOOOO. Bring back pick and pick and pick directly. It was one of the VX master strokes to NOT have to extra key to pick.

Less clicks, less keys, is always more. Or is there a hidden iption in there somewhere?

Cheers Paul

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 314

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 5 of 7

23-01-2012 01:07 . pm | View his/her posts only
Re the Draw Icon on BMB in sketcher.
I think it should be the first icon in the pallet since it is almost always used.

Should dynamic move even be there? (The mouse RMB exit from F2 is broken by the way)
I would much rather see instant access to the reference tools pallet.
Cheers Paul

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 314

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 6 of 7

23-01-2012 01:11 . pm | View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by mudcrab at 2012-1-23 15:40

Better use of RMB in Sketcher would be to toggle the sketcher tabs.
Why not RMB, choose Constraint, then pick the one you want from the now active Constraint tab. Saves a heap of mouse mileage.

Rank: 2

Mirko

Assistant Engineer

posts: 227

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 7 of 7

12-02-2012 12:42 . am | View his/her posts only
Just noticed in 2012 - You HAVE to hold down Ctrl to multi pick. YUCK. This is old, old, even ancie ...
mudcrab Post at 2012-1-23 13:00



:handshake
See also