CAD software discussion forum > CAD > True color set to index color after save

True color set to index color after save

Rank: 1

Darko

Newbie

posts: 6

Registered: 2012-1-19

Message 1 of 12

 True color set to index color after save
06-02-2012 09:56 . pm | View his/her posts only
I use ZWCAD 2009.
I need to set a color to RGB 215,215,215. When I save my drawing the color gets Index color 254 which is RGB 204,204,204.
When I play with the colors it sometimes stays as RGB after saving.

Any hints?

Regards, Darko Loncar

Rank: 1

DDWZW

Newbie

posts: 142

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 2 of 12

11-02-2012 04:33 . pm | View his/her posts only
weird^^^^^^but it's really old version

Rank: 1

Darko

Newbie

posts: 6

Registered: 2012-1-19

Message 3 of 12

13-02-2012 03:07 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 2# DDWZW

Yes it is an old version. I've tried the same thing with ZWCAD 2012. I have set one hatch color to true color 215,215,215 and after I save it the color is changed to index color 254.
I've played around with it and tried to set a layer to true color. The same thing happens. After saving it a few times and changing the color again and again it finaly keeps the change. In the layer properties manager under the Plot column for the changed layer is displayed "254;RGB:215,215,215". If its displayed like that then it's OK.
We are saving everything as Autocad 2000 for compatibility reasons.

Rank: 1

DDWZW

Newbie

posts: 142

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 4 of 12

14-02-2012 11:12 . am | View his/her posts only
Reply 3# darkolon


I created a new drawing and set color 215,215,215 for layer 0. it's saved in acad2000 format. Closed and opened it again. It looks fine here below. could you show yours?
2012-02-14_110811.jpg
2012-2-14 11:09

Rank: 1

Darko

Newbie

posts: 6

Registered: 2012-1-19

Message 5 of 12

15-02-2012 04:09 . pm | View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by darkolon at 2012-2-15 16:12

I've tried it on a new drawing and the change for the layer is OK. When I create 2 same rectangles and fill them with a hatch. The color of one hatch is set by layer and the layers color is 215,215,215. The color is OK after save. The other objects hatch color is set in hatchedit to 215,215,215. Both colors are displayed OK. After saving the color of that hatch i set to index 254. (left on the image2).

Image1

image1.png
2012-2-15 16:11

image1

image2.png
2012-2-15 16:06

Rank: 1

DDWZW

Newbie

posts: 142

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 6 of 12

16-02-2012 06:00 . pm | View his/her posts only
It's interesting...
Do you mean that there'll be something wrong if the entity be edited individually?

let me have a try

Rank: 1

Darko

Newbie

posts: 6

Registered: 2012-1-19

Message 7 of 12

17-02-2012 01:56 . pm | View his/her posts only
Yes. I usually need 2-3 hatches that are true color. Never needed it before. When I set the true color and plot the drawing without saving it's OK but when I save it then it sets to the nearest index color.

Rank: 1

DDWZW

Newbie

posts: 142

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 8 of 12

17-02-2012 05:41 . pm | View his/her posts only
did you try to reinstall your ZWCAD?
My result is below, ahh, fine.

the one by layer

11.jpg
2012-2-17 17:40

the one by itself

22.jpg
2012-2-17 17:40

Rank: 1

Darko

Newbie

posts: 6

Registered: 2012-1-19

Message 9 of 12

20-02-2012 02:47 . pm | View his/her posts only
Does the color on the second image remains 215,215,215 after you save the drawing?
In our office we have 6 copies of ZWCAD 2009 all on Win XP and my colleagues all have the same problem. There is one installation of ZWCAD 2012 on a Vista machine. There I can't even change the hatch to true color. I beleive that Vista also has some problems.
I will put the hatches into a layer and change the color of the layer. I get different results on new or old files. I can't find a pattern because sometimes it's OK sometimes not.

Rank: 1

DDWZW

Newbie

posts: 142

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 10 of 12

21-02-2012 10:23 . am | View his/her posts only
see the picture below. pay attention to the red rectangle. the COLOR is 215x3 and the drawing has been SAVED.
9999999.jpg
2012-2-21 10:23


Personally I reckon there might be some software conflicts. what kind of format do you usually save the drawings as?

Rank: 1

Darko

Newbie

posts: 6

Registered: 2012-1-19

Message 11 of 12

21-02-2012 05:06 . pm | View his/her posts only
We save all files in Autocad 2000 format.
The behavior is different from file to file and from computer to computer.
In most cases the layer color change works.
If I find a pattern why this occurs I'll post it.

Rank: 1

DDWZW

Newbie

posts: 142

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 12 of 12

05-03-2012 02:51 . pm | View his/her posts only
is there anybody else who can reproduce it?
See also