CAD software discussion forum > CAD Tutorial & Tips > how to select all objects in a layer using autocad

how to select all objects in a layer using autocad

Rank: 1

Profcad

Newbie

posts: 24

Registered: 2012-7-6

Message 1 of 4

 how to select all objects in a layer using autocad
11-07-2012 12:14 . pm | View his/her posts only
How to select all objects in a layer using autocad or ZWCAD?

Newbie here.


I have a drawing with 6 layers. In two of those layers I want to delete all objects.

Is there a simple/single command way to select all objects in a single specified layer and NOT select any objects in any other layer? After selecting them I'll delete the objects. I know how to select each object by clicking on it or by making a window around the objects.

Conversely is there simply a way to tell layer to be "empty"? I.e. a way to delete all objects in a layer without first selecting each object in that layer?

Thanks.

Rank: 1

Tharwat

Newbie

posts: 4

Registered: 2012-7-11

Message 2 of 4

11-07-2012 12:18 . pm | View his/her posts only
The QSELECT command allows you to quickly select objects based on search filters. To select by layers, set it to match the screen shot below.

QSELECT

qselect.png
2012-7-11 12:17

Simply select the layer you want to filter for from the Value drop down (Currently specified as 0).

Rank: 1

Man

Newbie

posts: 4

Registered: 2011-10-27

Message 3 of 4

11-07-2012 03:14 . pm | View his/her posts only
The FILTER command allows you to quickly select objects based on search filters.
It may be combine with layers as well as combne with layers & line/pline.
You can also save filter setting for same for quicly filter objects.

Rank: 1

Profcad

Newbie

posts: 24

Registered: 2012-7-6

Message 4 of 4

11-07-2012 04:07 . pm | View his/her posts only
Thanks! Much appreciate~
See also