CAD/CAM discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > Dynamic sub assemblies .. are they coming???

Dynamic sub assemblies .. are they coming???

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 326

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 1 of 12

 Dynamic sub assemblies .. are they coming???
01-08-2012 01:22 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Team, one of the joys of 3D CAD is being able to use sub assemblies.

One of the disenchantments of sub assemblies is that they lock up when used!
Common to most CAD systems with a few exceptions.

So I ask, (hope - big wish - really really want) - will 2013 have dynamic - working sub assemblies?
If so, how many levels ?

Comments appreciated....
Cheers :shutup:

Rank: 5Rank: 5

William

Top Influencer

posts: 252

Registered: 2010-10-28

Message 2 of 12

01-08-2012 03:43 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Paul, ZW3D have not the strict Part/ Assembly concept at the begging of modeling. When you create a single object, we call it part, but if you assembled some parts for it, it become the assembly.

I am very interested in "Dynamic sub assemblies" what you really need it. So for your viewpoint, how to understand " Dynamic sub assemblies", could you give me more detail and describe.

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 326

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 3 of 12

02-08-2012 10:23 . am | View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by mudcrab at 2012-8-2 10:29

OK - easy.
Lets say I am building a car.
I am working on the suspension.
It has components(single parts) and sub assemblies(parts assembled but inserted as one item.).
A shock absorber is an example of a sub assembly.
It is made of multiple parts and has a motion range - compressed to extended as defined by it's assembly constraints - and allows rotation between top and bottom fixing points as it is unconstrained in rotation between the upper and lower parts. So, some constraints and some degrees of freedom (DoF) remaining.
.
When the shock absorber assembly is inserted into the suspension it becomes a sub assembly between the shock mount points and we want it to control the range of motion of the suspension or at least be free to move as assembled.

Dynamic Sub Assembly is this management of constraints and DOF's across levels of sub assembly that allow the movement to occur.

Will it still be allowed to move as defined within the range of it's own assembly?

I hope that explains it OK.

Ask for more info if this is not clear.

Cheers - Paul:)

Rank: 5Rank: 5

William

Top Influencer

posts: 252

Registered: 2010-10-28

Message 4 of 12

06-08-2012 01:47 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Paul, thank you for your reply. As shown as below image. The Sub_ Assembly work as the sub part with Part_1,Part_2,Part_3 in the same level. And now you want the Part_A, Part_B and Part_C what belong to Sub_assembly can affect the Part_1, Part_2 and Part_3? such as create the link of motion or something else.

2012-8-6 11-43-34.jpg
2012-8-6 13:47

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 326

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 5 of 12

08-08-2012 06:52 . am | View his/her posts only
Reply 4# William_ZW3D

Hi William, I think that is correct.
Right now, ANY sub assembly simply looses it's DOF and becomes a rigid part. This needs to change.
Cheers
Paul

Rank: 1

Dave

Newbie

posts: 11

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 6 of 12

09-08-2012 12:33 . am | View his/her posts only
Reply 5# mudcrab


It would be nice to be able to turn contstraints on and off (not suppress which blows up the tree) in both the main assembly and any subassemblies.

Daved

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 326

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 7 of 12

09-08-2012 08:13 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Daved,
what would that do for you? e.g how would you use that?
Explode/configuration kinda does that now.

What I would like is the same constraint naming structure in the history as there is in animation. Something I have asked fro a long time but it seems others just know which constraint is which - well I don't.
I also want a choice for Edit constraint to either change the original constraint or make a new history feature (as it does now).
Cheers

Rank: 1

Dave

Newbie

posts: 11

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 8 of 12

10-08-2012 01:13 . am | View his/her posts only
Reply 7# mudcrab


Hi Paul,

often, I want to look at one part of the assembly by being able to move it in a partially constrained condition (turn off just one constraint and drag parts or a group of parts around to view the impact. Turning off just the constraints that that prevent the kind of motion I want is convenient. Turning them back on should automatically reposition the parts I moved for test.


Dave

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 326

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 9 of 12

10-08-2012 04:04 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Daved,
you can do that now with Assy Config recording.
Record a Config - e.g current one. Then edit constraints for a part as much as you like. Record that Config, then re activate the original. (or something like that) Once you are finished experimenting you can either just carry on or delete the experiments.
Time to read the Help some more....!
Cheers
Paul

Rank: 5Rank: 5

William

Top Influencer

posts: 252

Registered: 2010-10-28

Message 10 of 12

15-08-2012 09:01 . am | View his/her posts only
Good discussion. Configuration is good tools to record different state of assembly. You can use it to easy jump to different state.

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 326

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 11 of 12

17-08-2012 02:51 . pm | View his/her posts only
I am waiting for the answer to the topic question....
Cheers
Paul

Rank: 5Rank: 5

William

Top Influencer

posts: 252

Registered: 2010-10-28

Message 12 of 12

20-08-2012 10:11 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Paul,

I know that we have some developed project for assembly. For example,all the sub assembly not just shows as a rigid part, the top assembly can insert the bottom parts from the sub assembly even it's the bottom level, also we can more easy to manage their constrains.

Regarding your request, I still need to get the future version for testing and tell you the effect whether it achieve your request.
See also