Fold Problem

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 1 of 30

 Fold Problem
01-11-2012 06:51 . am | View his/her posts only
hello
I wanted to understand where I am wrong, I enclose 2 sample images


problem.png
2012-11-1 06:35


problem2.png
2012-11-1 06:35




As can be seen from the pictures there is a invisible face which then reflects the problem in 2D


I wanted to understand if i wrong :) to make 4 folds.


Now I am has a big problem, i have just purchased the third license zw3d premium safe in improvements, but can be used instead i have new problems and my partners have quantified that for defects we lose an average of 1 hour per day and do not rest more than my passion for zw3d unfortunately.


i like so many are asking what will improve in the next version but never a ladder of what can we expect .


Since time and money if even this time, we must go forward hoping without knowing, with regret thank and congratulate all but here make me change the program, cost us less than spend that hope


best
regards
mirko

Rank: 8Rank: 8

Orchid

Super Moderator

posts: 34

Registered: 2011-6-24

Message 2 of 30

01-11-2012 04:52 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 1# mirko72

Hello Mirko,

According to the pictures, your operations are no problems. I test it again on my PC. Everything is ok.

Would do you mind to send your part model to me for checking it? Email: zw3d@zwsoft.com


In Zw3D 2013, the main improvements are as follows:

1) Stronger core to support 64bit PC

2) Optimized UI and operation flows

3) Better Translator: solid is solid

4) New Feature/Assembly/CAM operation Manager

5) More efficient modeling & Sketcher

6) More professional 2D sheet

7) Milling strategies enhancements

8) 3D Containment

9) New tool manager

10) 5X post enhancement

11) ….



2012-11-1 16-50-22.png
2012-11-1 16:51

2012-11-1 16-30-48.jpg
2012-11-1 16:45

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 3 of 30

01-11-2012 05:52 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hello orchid

Thank you for your reply I have already sent the part

Your drawings are always impeccable :)

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 4 of 30

01-11-2012 06:00 . pm | View his/her posts only
There will be no stronger neck for greater scheet in metal?

Rank: 8Rank: 8

Orchid

Super Moderator

posts: 34

Registered: 2011-6-24

Message 5 of 30

02-11-2012 11:15 . am | View his/her posts only
Reply 1# mirko72

This invisible face problem is caused by the Boolean operation error of critical value.
So to fix this kind of problems, we could try to adjust the values of cut operation (boolean operation) and reset them again to get a fine model.
ok.jpg
2012-11-2 11:24

Rank: 8Rank: 8

Orchid

Super Moderator

posts: 34

Registered: 2011-6-24

Message 6 of 30

02-11-2012 11:22 . am | View his/her posts only
Reply 4# mirko72

In the next version,most improvements are focus on the platform functions.

Provide a stronger and friendly ZW3D body,then continue to optimized each module. :)

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 7 of 30

02-11-2012 03:19 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hello , orchid

thank you for your reply and attention as always inevitable and professional you are a nice group , congratulations.

Yes , i had already put in place this solution, i was hoping only that it was not an error of operation , in such a way as to avoid a few click, began to change once again the way I've learned to work in zw3D thanks for the response

Mirko

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 8 of 30

11-11-2012 11:00 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hello I am sorry,
but does not solve the problem affects the drawings old now!
Big problem that slows down the daily work of all the days, and I hope it will not wait for many months.

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 9 of 30

11-11-2012 11:15 . pm | View his/her posts only
As regards the next version i hope to find material on youtube that makes one see in order to believe what it is that in 3 years i was told but never happened , see vewri improvements.

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 262

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 10 of 30

12-11-2012 05:44 . am | View his/her posts only
Reply 9# mirko72

Hi Orchid, your answer about platform focus is good but not comforting.


There are quite a lot of little 'boolean type' issues that need to be fixed.
All very well to say just change the values a little bit but this means we are designing to the software which is not why we use it.


I agree with Mirko that these things have been 'unfixed' for too many years. And as Mirko says, waste a lot of time each day - costing money and frustration energy.

I have only used sheet metal a few times but in my short effort found a number of bugs. This should not be.

In my opinion as soon as a known bug is found, it should be removed on the next SP or release at the latest. Bug reduction s usually more important to users than change.

Sketcher has some bugs which arrived in 2011 and are still there in 2012 SP2. Not a great record.

Cheers

Rank: 8Rank: 8

Orchid

Super Moderator

posts: 34

Registered: 2011-6-24

Message 11 of 30

12-11-2012 02:06 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 10# mudcrab

Hello Paul& Mirko,

We know this boolean problem. For this case, my suggestion just is a workaround.
I think you know that it is not a simple work to be fixed within a short time. It will be a imporant issue to be improved in a later version.

In each version, ZW3D has been in continuous improvements. But each module is different in the emphasis.
2013/2014 version, we will take more attention to the basic features and optimize the work efficiency.


I belive that everything is bettter and better.:)

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 12 of 30

12-11-2012 03:22 . pm | View his/her posts only
2014?? :'(
:P

Thanks for the response


As friendly as always.


Good day


Mirko

Rank: 1

cutter

Newbie

posts: 55

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 13 of 30

18-11-2012 01:21 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hey guys, ZW is not a sheet metal software and it is in there just to provide rudimentary capabilities at best. Mirko you are in for grief if you intend to use ZW for a production or design sheet metal package. They are telling you guys that you have to wait years for any hope added to the years already gone for who knows what.

Orchid,
I hate to say this but if you all don't get on the ball and start some major innovations and problem solving you are going to fall further and further behind your competition. Direct editing is a joke. Sheet metal the same and still no 64 bit and I bet not in 2013 either. I have simple CAM problems like lead ins with spiral in tool paths where the default cut path starts by plunging into the stock and arcing into the cut path from inside the stock and not outside the stock and if you don't know about the macros to over-ride the default tool path strategies you can't use this tool path. Sometimes I have to select the bottom profile for a hole and others the top to get it to work and fiddling around with experiments to see what might work this time is a time waster for me. It should be consistent every time. It is possible to come up with a combination to do most everything in 3 axis cam in ZW eventually but getting there can be a chore and time is money so when I have to fool around with try this and try that it is money out of my pocket. I am not a novice with VX/ZW and have been a customer since 2005 so I can imagine the grief newbies get who don't know what to try when it all does not work right. Another problem area is trochoidal machining like Volumill or Truemill. The amount of metal that can be removed in cubic inches per minute is hugely faster than anything in ZW and as a bonus endmills last a lot longer for the amount of work done. Lathe is dangerous to use from what I understand so now it is finally here and you better verify before using that tool path. I don't use CAD in ZW anymore because direct editing when done well is such a powerful tool but it is not so with ZW. Solid Edge is my benchmark for comparison by the way and they have real sheet metal to.

There have been some minor improvements but the key word here is minor ever since you guys bought VX. Does ZW intend to fix the problems and shortcomings or just continue to tinker with them? 2014 is not a good answer by the way to users for things that should be in there now.

Rank: 8Rank: 8

Orchid

Super Moderator

posts: 34

Registered: 2011-6-24

Message 14 of 30

19-11-2012 04:03 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 13# cutter

"Just as bitter medicine cures sickness, so unpalatable advice benefits conduct."

We are willing to accept any suggestion and any criticism.

I know some thing is not good for our customers.But improvements are in the plan.
Meanwhile, I also believe some thing greatly satisfy ZW3D customers' needs.
We are in progress, even it is not fast.ZWSOFT need time to grow. Our footsteps are getting faster and faster.

Listen to the customers' voice and pay attention to the customers' needs.
We are continue to do it better.

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 15 of 30

20-11-2012 02:23 . am | View his/her posts only
Reply 13# cutter


Hi, it is true there are tools much more inspired and i use a product that is very targeted for sheet metal , but with zw3d i do everything equal and faster : ), i have written as reporting a problem and i am sure these addresses when they had done this .

Rank: 1

cutter

Newbie

posts: 55

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 16 of 30

12-01-2013 09:11 . pm | View his/her posts only
implant tray.rar (58.18 KB)
ScreenHunter_01 Jan. 12 06.01.jpg
2013-1-12 21:05
ScreenHunter_02 Jan. 12 06.39.jpg
2013-1-12 21:05



Mirko,
If this gets through try this one in ZW. Took around 15 minutes in brand "X" and as a bonus all the dimensions can be used to drive the part. Now you have to unlock dimensions to do editing because there are relationships there but you don't have to go to the tree and redo and regen. You never leave the screen shown and all editing is done right there with direct editing.

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 17 of 30

13-01-2013 01:16 . pm | View his/her posts only
sviluppo.png
2013-1-13 13:12
Reply 16# cutter


Hello ,cutter according to me, that it is direct editing , parametric, hybrid , it is always good depends on the type of work, I personally prefer the hybrid

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 18 of 30

13-01-2013 01:21 . pm | View his/her posts only
Then on the sheet i am well aware of the generosity of IF, but i think that ZW3D has a big potentiality also thanks to the price, the quality is not indifferent, his problem i think it is the past , now plan the plan will improve according to me, and as thou hast explained serves time, in the meantime where I am having problems using think3 designer (babylon traslator)

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 19 of 30

28-01-2013 03:18 . pm | View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by mirko72 at 2013-1-28 15:23

Hi
same problem in version 2013 beta2 (babylon traslator)

fold_problem.png
2013-1-28 15:22

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 262

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 20 of 30

29-01-2013 04:53 . am | View his/her posts only
Reply 19# mirko72
Hi Mirko, it seems to me that there should be a priority of bug fixes.
In my opinion, boolean fails should be the highest.
They are not the easiest but they are very very important and party stoppers. Right now this one of a number that have been there for a long time. Will we will have a 64bit version boolean fail?
Command fails should be next in line, then tweaks and improvements.


There is no point in having a new flashy interface etc if the boolean fails...


Just a thought for 2013....

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 21 of 30

29-01-2013 06:43 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Paul

thanks for the response, and I think that i suddenly stopped to use it, the annual costs are not apologetic unfortunately in my case for a lack of real improvement,the transmission interface does not know i still understand it , has brought confusion for now, but i think it is normal ec to get accustomed with further expenditure of time, also because it is in beta too many things do not work in the interface

Rank: 1

cutter

Newbie

posts: 55

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 22 of 30

29-01-2013 07:45 . am | View his/her posts only
OK guys, I downloaded 2013 and to say I am disgusted is an understatement. I am not going to do this to myself anymore and I am outta here. Good luck Paul and others and it was nice knowing you over the years. I can't believe this is considered a release worthy of more money from subscribers!! I click on the little smiley face looking for a frowning angry face and there is nothing in the drop down menu. Kind of like icing on the cake here as I look at another unfinished rough edge.

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 23 of 30

31-01-2013 06:21 . am | View his/her posts only
Hello
I downloaded too the 2013 beta , i hope it was a joke, the cad has all the flaws of the 2012 sp2 with a nice addition of malfunctions and a usability became worse than a little .

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 24 of 30

06-02-2013 03:05 . pm | View his/her posts only
Ciao are provided bug fixes? Or are not put into consideration issues such as this?

Rank: 1

Roy

Newbie

posts: 5

Registered: 2011-9-5

Message 25 of 30

06-02-2013 06:14 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 24# mirko72


Hello Mirko,

Thanks for your report.

We have received your problem and value it.

Now our R&D is evaluating it.

So if there is any progress about this issue i will inform you at the first time by email.

Thanks for your understanding and support.

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 26 of 30

20-03-2013 05:51 . am | View his/her posts only
Hello even if established that does not need to confirm reports that after the third ce version still the same defect

errore booleana 2013.png
2013-3-20 05:50

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 27 of 30

26-03-2013 02:16 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi

I noticed another problem i enclose pictures fold on line does not work in this case




(This is just a simple example , i anymore anyways in a drawing much more complex)
piega_1_linea.png
2013-3-26 02:15




piega_2_linea.png
2013-3-26 02:15

Rank: 2

chris

Assistant Engineer

posts: 43

Registered: 2011-5-24

Message 28 of 30

26-03-2013 05:34 . am | View his/her posts only
Mirko, what is it supposed to do? The picture looks like the center of the bend radii is at the line. Sorry for the question. I do sheet metal also but not my main business.

Rank: 1

Mirko

Newbie

posts: 215

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 29 of 30

26-03-2013 06:38 . am | View his/her posts only
Reply 28# chris


Hi Cris should raise only the central flap

Rank: 2

chris

Assistant Engineer

posts: 43

Registered: 2011-5-24

Message 30 of 30

26-03-2013 08:46 . pm | View his/her posts only
thank you Mirko, now I understand
See also