CAD software discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > 2013 BETA Good news - and positive feed back

2013 BETA Good news - and positive feed back

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 261

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 1 of 8

 2013 BETA Good news - and positive feed back
01-02-2013 06:31 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Guys, easy to get lost in the grumpy stuff that doesn't work so good.

But you have done a lot of good stuff. If users see somehting they really like, let us all know so we can learn.

For me the use of colour to indicate status in feature/history tree is a big plus. Have asked for thsi for years and now it is here. Well done.

Haven't used assembly yet but the previews look like great enhancements.

More to follow.

Cheers - Paul:D

Rank: 5Rank: 5

William

Top Influencer

posts: 214

Registered: 2010-10-28

Message 2 of 8

01-02-2013 11:09 . am | View his/her posts only
Some new things in 2013 assembly:

1. Highlight the activaive component name in assembly tree.

2013-2-1 10-58-24.jpg
2013-2-1 11:00


2. Highlight the activative component in operate windows so that you can easy know the working component intuitively

2013-2-1 11-00-58.jpg
2013-2-1 11:02


Of course, ZW3D allow your to set the diaplay color of un-activative components also keep compatibility with 2012

2013-2-1 11-04-34.jpg
2013-2-1 11:09


3. Transfer the Alignments to assembly tree and more easy to manager.

2013-2-1 11-11-22.jpg
2013-2-1 11:11


4. New option to manger Components and Alignments,especially for the Assembly part with many alignments, it's very helpful to filter.

2013-2-1 11-12-35.jpg
2013-2-1 11:14


5. Add more informations in Alignments names. you can know the Components name from the alignment name.

2013-2-1 11-15-20.jpg
2013-2-1 11:15


6. List the alignments base on components or assembled constraints

2013-2-1 11-20-43.jpg
2013-2-1 11:23


2013-2-1 11-20-24.jpg
2013-2-1 11:24

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 261

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 3 of 8

16-02-2013 11:00 . am | View his/her posts only
Spline editing in sketcher is MUCH improved.
Modifying a spline curve via control points is now a click, click and drag. Very nice.

The longer options is still available via the RMB

It has been mentioned befor but HOT KEYS are HOT. A really nice touch is that if add a HOTKEY, the hint should up in the mouse over pop up. Yes, still using the old Keyboard.

IMO ZW should assign single hand keys to Xtrude, Loft etc so there is an established standard set already to go.


GL_HOTKEY HINT_16Feb2013.jpg
2013-2-16 10:58




Very nice.... thanks.

Rank: 5Rank: 5

William

Top Influencer

posts: 214

Registered: 2010-10-28

Message 4 of 8

16-02-2013 11:56 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Paul, good idea. The only problem need to consider seriously is that which command need to set the default hot key, and what hot key set to those quite often using commands.

BTY, I also used Blank, Unblank, Unblank all. etc command very often during designing.

2013-2-16 11-45-20.jpg
2013-2-16 11:56

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 261

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 5 of 8

16-02-2013 04:29 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi William,
I think like anything else you could make a call and as long as it doesn't change we can adapt.

There is already a list of existing Hotkeys Function Keys?

May be make up a suggested list and ask the forum. Would be interesting to see if other software users had already establish some common keys.

Also need the ability to print a record of all Customisations and to be able to transfer them to later SPacks and Versions. This is why having a mature Default set is so important. Customisation is really annoying if you have to re do it each install.

Re Blanking - Yes a most important tool and kinda special the way it works in ZW. When I first started in VX I used it a lot more than I do now. I think the tools have improved and I have gotten wiser. hope so anyway.
Cheers P

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 261

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 6 of 8

18-02-2013 05:14 . pm | View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by mudcrab at 2013-2-18 17:27

Some little things are big improvements.
2013 - insert sketch, you want ot pick the plane BUT is is hidden inside you part - what do you do? Just hold Alt and hover over the plane you want to select then pick.
This actually works in 2012 but the part is too opaque to see what is happening. 2013 fixes that - Nice.
It still puzzles why we cannot just pick the sketch plane at the display triad the same way we can pick and axis- that is always visible. Would only have to apply to the 3 foundation planes.
Cheers

Rank: 1

Mark

Newbie

posts: 80

Registered: 2011-7-11

Message 7 of 8

18-02-2013 08:49 . pm | View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by mudcrab at 2013-2-18 17:27

Some little things are big improvements.
2013 - inse ...
mudcrab Post at 2013-2-18 17:14


The alt for selecting planes isnt working here for me?

I can see them ghosted through 2 surfaces, but alt doesnt let me pick them?

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 261

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 8 of 8

16-04-2013 09:35 . am | View his/her posts only
Just seen a nice improvement -
Editing text in Drawing now brings up the improved Editor by default. Saved me a few clicks right there - almost so good I didn't notice the change for a little while.
And spell check?
Thanks.
See also