VX v11

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 1 of 25

 VX v11
26-04-2005 02:11 . pm | View his/her posts only
Just noticed that v11 is available at customer support download! Anyone tried it yet? Should I wait for 11.1 (as was the case with 10)?

I'm assuming this will be on display at Solid Modelling 2005 at the NEC tomorrow and Thursday (in the UK)? Maybe I'll pop along and take a look ;-)

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 2 of 25

26-04-2005 07:51 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Kevin

Download it and see what you think! We are very proud of the version 11, it's a classy bit of kit.

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 3 of 25

27-04-2005 06:16 . am | View his/her posts only
I'm (supposed) to be going to the show tomorrow so I'll stop and have a chat to the guys at IDS and take a good look at v11 and pretend I know nothing about the software.....Gasp....Awesome....THAT would take me DAYS in SolidWorks.....and WHAT! Its the SAME price it is in the USA!!!....Thats HALF THE PRICE OF SOLIDWORKS!!!!.....very loudly :-)

Rank: 1

Robert

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 4 of 25

27-04-2005 08:03 . am | View his/her posts only
Gosh!

You guys make us blush.

Seriously though... download VX 11.01, it ROCKS!

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 5 of 25

27-04-2005 09:59 . am | View his/her posts only
Yes, V11 GUI is a BIG step forward IMHO. Good job guys!

But I still want better "custom" moldbase support. And better electrode creation/documentation!

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 6 of 25

27-04-2005 10:14 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Steve

Custom mould base support is in the pipeline.

Rank: 1

Paul

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-7-12

Message 7 of 25

29-04-2005 08:16 . am | View his/her posts only
I'm curious about the 11.01 status. In the CAM forum George from our company mentioned that VX 11 is no longer available for download.

I really do like the new VX 11 interface, however I've witnessed a couple problems.

I tried building a Loft between 2 sketches and it would not place it.

George mentioned that the STL import for use in CAM only worked in metrics, even though he has inches set as his default unit.

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 8 of 25

29-04-2005 08:22 . am | View his/her posts only
Didn't get time to go to the show after all. Looks like I'll wait for 11.1 anyway :-)

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 9 of 25

03-05-2005 04:51 . am | View his/her posts only
So whats the score with V11 now then? It seems to have mysteriously disappeared from the customer site.......maybe your competitors have hacked in and removed it :-)

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 10 of 25

03-05-2005 12:40 . pm | View his/her posts only
Maybe it was just an illusion!

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 11 of 25

03-05-2005 02:13 . pm | View his/her posts only
{Yoda Voice} V11!! see you did not!!{/Yoda Voice}

Rank: 1

Robert

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 12 of 25

03-05-2005 04:32 . pm | View his/her posts only
Well, it's a long story.

Nah... you don't want to hear a long story so here's the short version.

We realized that there were a number of problems with the 11.01 version so we pulled it.

We should have a new version up again by the end of this week.

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 13 of 25

03-05-2005 04:35 . pm | View his/her posts only
See, I *KNEW* that it was up there. Jedi mind tricks just don't work on me anymore

Rank: 1

Mike

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-28

Message 14 of 25

04-05-2005 03:05 . pm | View his/her posts only
Version 11 is still in BETA. ****

That means it has been made available on the download site for you to get a preview. I would not recommend you start any new projects on V11; just play. Most of you are used to getting an email from me when we feel the product is ready for you to use and that still holds true. If you have play time, download it, if not.....stick with V10 for now.

You can't write PCR's against 11.01 so if you find something please email support@vx.com. I will still need all the information you would put in a PCR like a clear description of the problem, whether it happens to just your part or all parts, and the file. The sooner the better.

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 15 of 25

08-05-2005 08:46 . pm | View his/her posts only
I see V11.01 is able to be downloadable again.

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 16 of 25

09-05-2005 11:46 . pm | View his/her posts only
I've been using 11.01 for about a week now. I didn't know we should't start any real projects with it yet, so I've been doing real production work. Besides a few very minor user interface anomalies, it's working just fine. I really like the new interface. Excellent work.

Steve

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 17 of 25

10-05-2005 05:43 . am | View his/her posts only
Yup me too. I started a pretty major project with 11.01 last week before they made the announcement. 11.01 does seem to have some memory leak issues. Rebooting VX after a couple of hours seemed to solve it.

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 262

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 18 of 25

10-05-2005 06:36 . pm | View his/her posts only

Be warned - there is no going back to V10.xx after V11. V10 doesn't open the later file format.(Its does know it's V11 tho') I am not the first to discover that 'Ignorance is Bliss' So as long as V11.xx is stable, no problems.......

* Now, does VX have memory leaks or the OS?
* How do you know you have a memory leak/s?
* Where do the leaked bits end up? ( I get a lot of dust around the floor near my PC and have often wondered if this is old memory leak stuff - perhaps others have similar experience - My theory is that the dust seeks to be reincarnated as memory again 'cos it's always trying to get back in via the cooling fins on the heat sink)
I am certain my memory leaks but have never figured out where the spillage ends up.I guess the idea is to keep pouring in more than leaks out. Would that work with a PC?

How will I know which VX11.xx is considered stable?

Just a thought... Is hair loss associated with a memory leak problem or just an OS issue?.

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 19 of 25

10-05-2005 10:09 . pm | View his/her posts only
VX 11 is quite stable. This particular job I'm doing seems to bring out a memory leak. And it's not always repeatable, which is why I haven't contacted tech support about it.


How do I *KNOW* it's got a memory leak? Well, I can be working a few hours, and VX gets a bit sluggish, I open up the task manager, and low and behold, VX is taking over a gig of ram! Okay, save what I'm doing, close VX and reload it. And Voila... It's back down to under 300 meg.

Where those bits and bytes go, is anyone's guess. But I'm sure it's a conspiracy theory just like that darn sock eating invisible goblin in my clothes dryer!

Rank: 1

Paul

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-7-12

Message 20 of 25

17-05-2005 08:34 . am | View his/her posts only
From a couple earlier posts on this thread it was mentioned that a new 11 release should be out the end of the week (from May 3rd), and that 11.01 is still a Beta.

Unless the 11.01 that was re-posted on the VX site is the patched version of 11 should we be seeing the official version of 11 soon?

I like the VX 11 interface, but I'm more than willing to wait for a stable product.

Rank: 1

Mike

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-28

Message 21 of 25

18-05-2005 01:03 . pm | View his/her posts only
I would like nothing better than to "turn loose the hounds" and tell you to start using V11.01. It is, however, still BETA software. Here are the implications of that statement: VX has not given its blessing for the product to be used in a production environment, yet. If you come across an issue that stops you dead in the water there is no escape hatch other than exporting the part and going back to Version 10.xx.
On a good note, CAD seems to be very stable.
As always, I will be sending out an email when I have other news.

Rank: 1

Paul

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-7-12

Message 22 of 25

07-06-2005 08:24 . am | View his/her posts only
I see that VX 11.11 is on the VX site, is this version past the BETA stage?

Rank: 1

Robert

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 23 of 25

10-06-2005 07:55 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Paul,

We label our releases as follows:

Alpha... be afraid, (be very afraid).
Beta... still scary but more stable
Production... our latest version available to our customers and resellers.
Mass Release... our recommended version.

11.11 is our latest version and I think it's pretty stable but... we still haven't vetted it for Mass Release

Rank: 1

Paul

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-7-12

Message 24 of 25

13-06-2005 12:30 . pm | View his/her posts only
Thanks Bob

I have tested release 11.11 out, and besides a couple squirrely issues, I'm pretty good with the software.

My issues that I've run into so far:
1)Bi-rail loft default throws the missing edge that it solves way out there. The Natural option cleans this up, however there are many times when the natural command shortens the result, which brings up a possibility of not getting the surface you are after. (Discussed with Mike Lynch)
2)Layer re-naming issue; you can not change the layer of a given view unless this veiw includes some text. (Submitted PCR)
3)In the job I've worked in I've witnessed that the history has hung up. To continue past this I just hit the forward arrow button. (I'm not sure what I'm seeing here, I may submit a PCR)

Mike mentioned that the CAM end of version 11 still is not ready for release. Any estimate on it's release date?

Rank: 1

Robert

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 25 of 25

15-06-2005 05:41 . pm | View his/her posts only
Depends what you're looking for... the QuickMilling stuff seems pretty stable but we've had some serious hickups (sp?) with frames and transforms (tool paths end up mirrored etc,)

I anticipate we'll have Version 11. 2 ready for an early July mass release (don't shoot me if I'm wrong).
See also