CAD/CAM discussion forum > ZW3D CAD > My findings about the 64bit version of ZW3D 2013 SP

My findings about the 64bit version of ZW3D 2013 SP

Rank: 1

Lynn

Newbie

posts: 5

Registered: 2013-8-8

Message 1 of 7

 My findings about the 64bit version of ZW3D 2013 SP
08-08-2013 05:05 . pm | View his/her posts only
I am using the laptop with 64 bit Windows 8, I didn't care too much about the 64 bit applications as I could use the 32 bit applications in the 64 bit OS, and everything was great. But after I upgraded the memory from 4G to 8G, I am looking forward to use more 64bit applications, because I can run bigger files without the stupid limitation of Windows 32 bit. I am happy that when I got the notice of ZW3D 64 bit version this week. To be honest, I didn't expect too much differences, as I know most of the applications are exactly the same for both of 32 bit and 64 bit. When I tried the 64 bit version of ZW3D, I found something different which might be interesting for you guys.

1) I have a Catia file which was not possible to open in Transmaigc 64bit with 4G memory, because it ran out of my computer memory. When I tried to use ZW3D 64bit to open this Catia file in my laptop with 8G RAM, it works perfect, it is very smooth in my computer. I highly recommend that you must upgrade your computer memory to enjoy the newly 64 bit version of ZW3D.

2) In the first release of ZW3D 2013, I was disappointed when I found I couldn't get the reference of external file in the Sketch which used to work in the previous version. I am happy to see that it has been corrected in SP. Good job.

3) Everybody knows that there was a big change of the GUI in the first release of ZW3D 2013, I am happy to see that you don't change the GUI in SP. You new GUI is already very good, please don't change anymore to push me to learn, I am a old guy.

This new update is worthful for who are using Windows 64bit OS like me.

Lynn

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 326

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 2 of 7

12-08-2013 08:16 . am | View his/her posts only
All cool.
Can ZW3D 64 'save as' a 32 bit file?
Cheers

Rank: 2

davej

Assistant Engineer

posts: 73

Registered: 2013-1-16

Message 3 of 7

14-08-2013 02:52 . am | View his/her posts only
A small amount of confusion I'm seeing that hopefully William or one of the ZWSOFT support guys can clear up.

Far as I know there is no such thing as a x32 or x64 file. x64 motherboards, and x64 operating systems, but not files. x64 is really just more plumbing or pipes to send information through but I think does not get to the file level.

I was scratching my head over some words from a press release or release notes that mentioned ZW3D x64 files are not compatible or can't go backwards to x32.

I've never heard of such a thing and I'm routinely moving files in both directions between ZW3D x32 and x64. No problems, errors, or compatibility issues.

???

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Colin

Manager

posts: 138

Registered: 2012-1-19

Message 4 of 7

14-08-2013 09:26 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi, Dave

ZW3D 2013 SP_x64 is the first released 64bit version, therefore, it is only compatible with the ZW3D 2013 SP x32 which release with the 64bit version at the same time.

If you are using both of SP x32(V1710) and x64(V1710) at the same time, no problem. You can save it in x64 and open it in x32.

If you are using ZW3D 2013(V1705) or earlier, and want to open the file from x64, simply upgrade your ZW3D 2013 to ZW3D 2013 SP(V1710), it works as expected. For the communication between higher version and lower version, you can also use Exporting to NEURAL file which can be read by any version of ZW3D.

By the way, if you are using x32, there is not any problem for you to save the file in SP and open it in earlier version like V1705 or V1700.

In a word, simply upgrade your program to the latest version, you don't need to care about the difference of computer's floating point computation, everything is working great.

Best regards
Colin

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 326

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 5 of 7

05-09-2013 09:49 . am | View his/her posts only
Anyone else got any feedback about 64bit version.
I am interested but upgrading my PC to 64bit is a lot of work.
I am interested to know if the difference is really noitceable>
Cheers
Paul

Rank: 2

davej

Assistant Engineer

posts: 73

Registered: 2013-1-16

Message 6 of 7

05-09-2013 12:05 . pm | View his/her posts only
Paul,

I'm with you and totally agree when you say upgrading a PC to x64 is a lot of work.

It's my opinion there will only be noticeable performance improvements if you get a high end computer that will come with x64. Or if you already have the high end computer that's been running x32 but has been held back for example by memory limitations built into x32. You I'm sure remember the day's when they used to put governor's on auto carburetors. That's what happens when you run a high end computer with x32. In my experience if your taking an existing generic computer that's not a hot rod and just adding the x64 operating system to it I just don't think the move to x64 means much.

So I generally recommend the move to x64 happens at the time of purchasing a new computer.

Rank: 1

xuhuiping9075

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2013-9-12

Message 7 of 7

12-09-2013 10:57 . am | View his/her posts only
cool.cheers{:2_27:}
See also