CAD/CAM discussion forum > ZW3D CAD > Trochoidal = AFC

Trochoidal = AFC

Rank: 1

ZW3DUser

Newbie

posts: 59

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 1 of 12

 Trochoidal = AFC
04-10-2013 01:18 . am | View his/her posts only
Hello.

Today i see many vids about Trochoidal milling.
No my question: will zw3d support this ?
Is this the same like smoothflow with AFC ?

I make some tests with AFC, but i don't understand it.
I make an operation without AFC, i add RAPID to two feeds. Sorry, don't know the English word for this, but in the parameter there are blue, and light blue i think.
This must be set to RAPID for the first move from tool change to the safety position (Z100)
If there is no RAPID, it will move with normal feed. And the second is for movements in air to the next position.
This is ok.

If i use AFC then ZW3D let the endmill move with RAPID if there are no stock !
The machine will move the mill over the part in rapid movement...this is not a good idea.
If i change the RAPID to a feed like 300% then the first an all other RAPID movements are with 300% and this is to slow.

Second problem is, when i use AFC and feeds with more than 100% in some parameters, the endmill will be on the stock without a safety distance. The endmill will move fast to the stock, but a lite IN the stock, ans then the feed will reduced, but a lite to late ?

So i think there are a mistake with RAPID and AFC ???

Rank: 5Rank: 5

Tony_ZWSOFT

posts: 44

Registered: 2011-8-22

Message 2 of 12

08-10-2013 11:24 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi,
Actually, we are considering to develope the Trochoial milling in R19 version, but it hasn't been configureed right now and still need to discuss.
There are a little similar between Trochoial milling and smoothflow plus AFC.
Concerning setting the Rapid for the 'blue' and 'light blue', i think they are retract and traversal options if i don't understand wrong. That's true, some users exactly need that. and ZW3D as a platform software, it try to fulfill more situation and offer a more flexible for users. you can easily type 'RAPID' for both of these two option, and save them as default setting in the operation, next time, you will get the 'RAPID' movement you wondering. consiering how to save the setting of the operation as default value, here is a document showing how to do, please get the link from following link.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7fm19t ... for%20operation.pdf

For the AFC function, the system need to detect the stock and change the feedrate, it will be generate unreasonable result if no stock. maybe we should give users a more clear information telling them need to add stock for achieving the AFC function.

Concerning the 'second problem', could you please send me more detail, i will try to figure it out and reply.

Thank you for asking.

Regards
Tony

Rank: 1

ZW3DUser

Newbie

posts: 59

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 3 of 12

10-10-2013 12:43 . am | View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by jansen1776 at 2013-10-10 00:53

Post Last Edit by jansen1776 at 2013-10-10 00:52

Hello.

RAPID is working. I always use RAPID, because the first Z motion in feed is to slow.
Problem is, RAPID in this settings and AFC !

I made some movies. Please take a lock.
(They are not listed, so you can watch only with this links)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rMFzn6gke74 -> OK but first Z motion slow
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gm0Nt5LzlA -> OK !
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-pPdRW5z1Q -> Ok but first Z motion slow
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dcVMUMywbHw -> not OK
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Et4WHg_AyRY -> RAPID movement into part !

Please read the description.

Rank: 5Rank: 5

Tony_ZWSOFT

posts: 44

Registered: 2011-8-22

Message 4 of 12

10-10-2013 09:34 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Jansen,

Thank you for recording the vedios.
I will check them out and give you reply as soon as possible.
I would appreciated that you could send the vedios to dropbox or our support email next time, zw3d@zwsoft.com.
since Youtube is forbidden in China.
Thank you.

Regards
Tony Tan

Rank: 5Rank: 5

Tony_ZWSOFT

posts: 44

Registered: 2011-8-22

Message 5 of 12

10-10-2013 02:07 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Jansen,

I have seen all the videos, the first and the second video is clear.
But the others are very fuzzy, I can't see the details.
could you please send the files and more higher resolution videos to below email address.
ZW3D@ZWsoft.com.
We will follow it up and reply you as soon as possible.
I am sorry for the incoveniency.

Regards
Tony

Rank: 1

ZW3DUser

Newbie

posts: 59

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 6 of 12

10-10-2013 11:25 . pm | View his/her posts only
I did not know that youtube is banned in China

This was only a test part.
Please make a test with smoothflow and AFC and you will see it.
You only must set RAPID to one feed settings, then the first Z move will made as rapid, but in combination with AFC the endmill will move with rapid into the stock.

If i made movies with higher resolution, it will be to big.
I think its better you make a simple testfile by yourself.
I only make settings to cut 1mm X/Y and Z full depth.
Stock is added to the operation.

Rank: 5Rank: 5

Tony_ZWSOFT

posts: 44

Registered: 2011-8-22

Message 7 of 12

11-10-2013 01:48 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Jansen,
I have created a operation in terms of your information.
But i didn't found the situation you told about.
I also attached the file, please refer to the third operation, could you please tell me if there anything i set wrong?
afc.Z3 (526 KB)
rapid1.jpg
2013-10-11 13:45

cutting_movement.jpg
2013-10-11 13:45

rapid2.jpg
2013-10-11 13:45


Regards
Tony

Rank: 1

ZW3DUser

Newbie

posts: 59

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 8 of 12

12-10-2013 12:15 . am | View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by jansen1776 at 2013-10-12 00:19

Post Last Edit by jansen1776 at 2013-10-12 00:16

Hello.

At first I thought it was a problem with ZW3D 2012, we have 2012.
On the Demo of 2013 i test it.
afc.jpg
2013-10-12 00:12


You have this on "ZigZag".
Then it will move in both directions with feed.
If you use any other option here, the endmill will move RAPID back to the next position and a little into the stock.
I only want to mill CCW in the part and CW out of a part...dont know the english word for that...climp / conventional ?


Please try it.

Rank: 5Rank: 5

Tony_ZWSOFT

posts: 44

Registered: 2011-8-22

Message 9 of 12

12-10-2013 10:52 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Jansen,

Yes, it should have the plunge and approach movement.
I havd told with the develper, we will fix it.
Thank you for your feedback.
Please feel free to contact us if any problem.

Regards

Rank: 1

Didier

Newbie

posts: 35

Registered: 2011-9-9

Message 10 of 12

21-10-2013 03:55 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Tony,

Doesn't 3x Quick milling Smoothflow roughing already use trochoidal milling?

Looks very close.

Best regards,

Didier

Rank: 5Rank: 5

Tony_ZWSOFT

posts: 44

Registered: 2011-8-22

Message 11 of 12

23-10-2013 06:50 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Didier,

Thank you for your interesting.
In my opinion, they are not the same.

Regards
Tony

Rank: 1

Didier

Newbie

posts: 35

Registered: 2011-9-9

Message 12 of 12

23-10-2013 08:06 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Tony,

Smoothflow is already very good*. But if throchoidal milling is better, it doesn't hurt getting in in a future release.

* except for one point I'll mention in another post.
See also