CAD/CAM discussion forum > CAD > DWG file not opening in ZWCAD+ 2014

DWG file not opening in ZWCAD+ 2014

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 1 of 29

 DWG file not opening in ZWCAD+ 2014
09-10-2013 05:12 . pm | View his/her posts only
Support is requested as because none of the older drawing files (created by ZWCAD 2012+) are opening with 2014+ version. Below is the configurationWindows 7, Service Pack 1(64 bit OS)
.NET 4 platform

My system is having ZWCAD 2012+ version with dongle license.
Also having ZWCAD 3D Lite 2013 (soft license)

I tried with trial version which installed without any error/warning message. Only had asked for update to .NET4 which has been done before installation.

Regards
Tonmoy

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 2 of 29

09-10-2013 05:12 . pm | View his/her posts only
I have a problem opening drawings created by 2012+ with 2014+. It is not giving any error message but crashes after 20 to 60% loading. Is it the case of running two versions on the same machine? I am using Windows 7 SP1. My system contains ZWCAD2012+ (dongle license) and ZW3D Lite (soft license).
Need help.
Tonmoy

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Jenny

Manager

posts: 481

Registered: 2013-5-6

Message 3 of 29

12-10-2013 05:06 . pm | View his/her posts only
hi, did this problem happen to every drawing, or did it only with some specific drawing? If it happen to specific drawing, pls attach to here and let me test it.

Rank: 1

stefaa5779

Newbie

posts: 92

Registered: 2013-3-13

Message 4 of 29

13-10-2013 04:15 . am | View his/her posts only
There are circumstances where Zwcad 2012 dwg format leads to fatal errors of autocad when opening such zwcad 2012 drawing.
The first beta of 2014 had this problem no more. ZWcad 2014 also no problem.

The best approach is: start zwcad 2014, use recover and then hope that zwcad doesn't crach.
Once recovered, audit again and purge. Purge fixes the problem, then save. if zwcad still crashes:

Another approac that sure works: Dassaults Draftsight is a free 2d application with some limitations but, it's a great debug platform.

Install Draftsight, open the drawing with draftsight, if it fails, start draftsight click on file...check and slect the problem dwg. Draftsight can open the drawing. Then choose file...clean. Now this will remove the problem.
Save the file with draftsight. Then the dwg can opened by autocad and zwcad

Now open the file with zwcad. ok, a work around but at least a solution if zwcad crashes even on recover .

I had a few dwg's that autocad could not open but Draftsight fixed it.
if Draftsights clean can not open the dwg: then the dwg is prolly corrupted.
If many dwg's have a load problem, are the files not damaged, can happen on network connected and sudden power failure if the server has no sufficient power backup (PSU)

ps. draftsight is sure no competition for zwcad, it is missing functions poor video performance etc but great to debug dwg problems.

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 5 of 29

13-10-2013 03:20 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 2# Tonmoy82

Thanks for the reply. I have attached 2 drawing files - one done in 2012+ and the other copying the elements individually to a 2014+ file. I have marked (some of them) in the 2012+ format that cannot be copied to 2014+ format, for your help. It seems the MTEXT elements containing Unicode strings cannot be read in 2014+ format. Attached are files for your testing. The file names are self explanatory for the format it is saved in. Please also look into the layouts in these drawings. Should you need any further clarification please get back to me.

Thanks and regards
Tonmoy

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 6 of 29

13-10-2013 08:53 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 4# stefaa5779
Hi. Thanks for your reply and effort in trying to solve the problem. Accordingly I installed Draftsight and opened the drawing (problem drawing) which it opened without any problem. However, I fixed the problem (if it had any at all) and it was reported to have fixed one problem. Saved it in Draftsight R13 dwg. Again tried to open it in ZWCAD 2014+ without any luck.

This is the case with all drawings created and saved in 2012+ except very simple ones particularly with MTEXT Unicode strings.


Regards
Tonmoy

Rank: 1

stefaa5779

Newbie

posts: 92

Registered: 2013-3-13

Message 7 of 29

13-10-2013 09:13 . pm | View his/her posts only
I see no attached example dwg.

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 8 of 29

14-10-2013 01:31 . am | View his/her posts only
TestFiles.zip (989.4 KB) Reply 7# stefaa5779

Sorry. Here is the attachment containing 2 drawing files. I strongly believe that this is a case of clash of library files (dll) of the 2 versions. ZWCAD 2014+ seems to be working fine and even able to open dwg files without MTEXT content. As already stated I have tried copying elements one-by-one to 2014 and saved without problem. But of the MTEXT types (likely with unicode string) are causing problem and it crashes without warning/error. Possibly, I will have to try on a separate system not having any previous version installed.

Thanks and regards
Tonmoy

Rank: 1

stefaa5779

Newbie

posts: 92

Registered: 2013-3-13

Message 9 of 29

14-10-2013 03:34 . pm | View his/her posts only
I see no problem with these drawings.
Opening them in beta2 2014 trial works, copy/paste mtext also.

Tested on windowsXP 32bit 4GB ram (3.2GB in use) ati fire GL7200 video card.
Autocad 2013 and 2014, Draftsight, Bricscad and truedwgviewer can open and copy/paste also.
Copy /paste between zwcad 2014 and these other cad applications works also.

So not sure that it's a zwcad probllem, rather OS causing a problem.
Can happen on 64bit OS like windows7 and 8.

Also, start zwcad.exe best under xp compatibility on any windows64 bit version.
ps: it's not a good idea to use dwg 2013 format.
There are still users with autocad 2012 or even older.

Best is dwg 2010 or 2007 or 2004 , sure not 2013.

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 10 of 29

14-10-2013 03:52 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 9# stefaa5779
Thanks once again. I am using Windows 7 64 bit OS (SP 1) in .NET4 on DELL Inspiron (i3 Processor with 3GB RAM) with the latest Windows update installed. I tried a 2014+(trial version) in Windows 7 32 bit OS (not having any other versions of ZWCAD) and it seems to be working there. In case it is a 64 bit OS issue then ZWCAD should provide an update patch to fix the issue immediately. I am using ZWCAD since 2009 version and never had problem of this sort earlier.

Regarding saving in 2013 version, your idea is absolutely correct. I usually save in dwg 2007 as practice. But this was a special case as we are trying to solve a problem and therefore trying different versions and chose the latest one.


Thanks and regards
Tonmoy

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 11 of 29

18-10-2013 08:56 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 3# Jenny_ZWCAD

Hi. I am waiting for a response from ZWCAD (Ms Jenny) and test results with the attached files in Windows 7 (64 bit) system.

Regards
Tonmoy

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Jenny

Manager

posts: 481

Registered: 2013-5-6

Message 12 of 29

21-10-2013 04:32 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 11# Tonmoy82

hi Tonmoy, thanks for the drawings. I tested and the result is the same to stefaa, your drawing could be opened by ZWCAD+ 2014 on Windows 7 64bit on my side. It probably due to OS, pls export your OS information and let me test: Start->Run, type “Dxdiag” to get configuration info, you can click “Save All Information” button to save it in a txt file then send to us.

I'm not sure when it will be fixed, pls use other OS before the problem is resolved.

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 13 of 29

21-10-2013 06:03 . pm | View his/her posts only
DxDiag.zip (7.28 KB) Thanks for the reply. For your information I have received license of this ZWCAD 2014+ version from my local vendor already and there is no problem, so far, creating new drawings or opening some drawings with this except in some cases when it hangs in situations I mentioned earlier. However, attached is the system information text file as advised.

Thanks and regards
Tonmoy

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Jenny

Manager

posts: 481

Registered: 2013-5-6

Message 14 of 29

22-10-2013 03:09 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 13# Tonmoy82

Did you mean, for most case, the problem is resolved after ZWCAD+ 2014 is activated?

Sometime Acer eDataSecurity Management might cause hang-up, usually we trouble shooting by this way:

Step1: download and install the newest Acer eDataSecurity Management.
Step2: uninstall Acer eDataSecurity from Control panel.
Step3: modify the dll file (rename the filename of PSDProtext.dll to noPSDProtect.dll) under the following folder to prohibit running it.
My Computer C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eDataSecurity\x86
My Computer C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eDataSecurity\x64

Find more from this post: Troubleshooting crash problem of ZWCAD+

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 15 of 29

22-10-2013 03:25 . pm | View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by Tonmoy82 at 2013-10-22 15:39

Reply 14# Jenny_ZWCAD

Hi Jenny. One correction please. My computer (laptop) is DELL Inspiron N5010 and NOT ACER. Only the computer name is ACER due to other reasons as legacy from old system.

Further, nothing visible has changed after activation because I was given a temporary license (for 15 days) by the vendor after I paid the fees for 5 years update. Some drawings are opening in 2014+ but not all. As mentioned earlier that I did a little bit of research on the problem and found that, for example for +/-0.00 - If your write %%P0.00 there is no problem. But in case your file contains \U+00B10.00 then 2014+ will crash in my system.

Regards
Tonmoy

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Jenny

Manager

posts: 481

Registered: 2013-5-6

Message 16 of 29

22-10-2013 05:16 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 15# Tonmoy82

thank you for the information, we are working on it now.

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Jenny

Manager

posts: 481

Registered: 2013-5-6

Message 17 of 29

22-10-2013 05:31 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 15# Tonmoy82


Tonmoy, could you tell me what version of ZWCAD+ 2012 you used? You can find the version number by inputting command VERNUM.

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 18 of 29

22-10-2013 10:52 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 17# Jenny_ZWCAD

ZWCAD 2012+ version is "2013.03.31(11367)".

Hope this is the current one.


Regards
Tonmoy

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 19 of 29

07-11-2013 01:38 . am | View his/her posts only
Reply 17# Jenny_ZWCAD

I have downloaded the latest version i.e, 2013.10.25(17150) with hope that my problem will be addressed. Alas! without luck. Now I think I'll have to wait and pray or else....

At present I am conversant enough to be able to inspect a 2012+ file and see which one can be opened or not in 2014+ version.


Tonmoy

Rank: 3Rank: 3

Dober

Junior Engineer

posts: 101

Registered: 2011-9-22

Message 20 of 29

07-11-2013 01:58 . pm | View his/her posts only
Have the same problem can not open drawings in ZWCAD 2014 ZWCAD but in 2012 yet???

Habe hier das gleiche Problem kann Zeichnungen in ZWCAD 2014 nicht öffnen aber in ZWCAD 2012 schon ???????

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 21 of 29

07-11-2013 02:33 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 20# Dober
I see that I have a companion. We will have to wait.. for their fix now. There seems to be no problem with drawing elements. Problem is with MTEXT as mentioned already. Now I can manually modify the "Texts" as required in 2012+ and then open in 2014+.

Tonmoy

Rank: 3Rank: 3

Dober

Junior Engineer

posts: 101

Registered: 2011-9-22

Message 22 of 29

07-11-2013 02:36 . pm | View his/her posts only
oeffnen.png
2013-11-7 14:37
I think with us it is up to the X-Ref is not found? (see picture)


Ich glaube bei uns liegt es an der X-Ref die nicht gefunden wird ??? (siehe Bild)

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Jenny

Manager

posts: 481

Registered: 2013-5-6

Message 23 of 29

07-11-2013 03:03 . pm | View his/her posts only
hi all, we could not reproduce this problem on our side, the problem might be relative to system language, please try to change it to US English. Just let me know if it work.

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 24 of 29

07-11-2013 03:25 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 23# Jenny_ZWCAD
Sorry no luck yet with English (US). Unfortunately the same drawing can be opened in AUTOCAD 2013, DraftSight (as suggested by Stefaa) or even ZWCAD 2012+ (dwg version 2010 or below), but NOT IN ZWCAD 2014+(licensed version).

Rank: 3Rank: 3

Dober

Junior Engineer

posts: 101

Registered: 2011-9-22

Message 25 of 29

07-11-2013 03:33 . pm | View his/her posts only
xlsx.png
2013-11-7 15:34
Or it is on a link to an Excel file as Autocad

Oder es liegt an einer Verknüpfung zu einer Excel Datei wie bei Autocad

Rank: 1

stefaa5779

Newbie

posts: 92

Registered: 2013-3-13

Message 26 of 29

08-11-2013 10:24 . pm | View his/her posts only
Do not forget to use the error check and clean functions of draftsight.
= mike audit and purge under autocad but even better then autocad does.

Then save the problem drawing with draftsight.

Zwcad 2012 can not fix such problematic drawings, in fact, it causes the problem in the first place. Usual xref related with external files from second sources that don't use autocad but convert a propriary file format to dwg.

Beta2014 and release have also far better audit and purge compared to 2012 version.
I used Draftsight as debug platform cause I could not wait till Zwsoft fixed the issue.

Another example: I could not open a dwg on autocad 2013. Autocad crashes.
Opened with draftsight error check and clean and save.
And autocad could open the drawing afterwards.

Rank: 5Rank: 5

Jan Pajerchin

ZWCAD Reseller

posts: 60

Registered: 2011-5-21

Message 27 of 29

09-11-2013 01:53 . am | View his/her posts only
Only small note:
If such problem occurs - the first what is necessary to try is:
1. Rename the file to short name (without spaces)- for example Test1.dwg
2. Create Short folder on your C:\ drive with short name (without spaces)- for example C:\Test
3. Copy the file to this folder and try to open

Such problems could be caused by special characters in your language or spaces in file or folders names (Note to ZWSOFT: the unicode solves also this problem)

Rank: 1

Tonmoy

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2011-7-14

Message 28 of 29

16-11-2013 11:27 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 23# Jenny_ZWCAD
Hi All

Good news is my problem has been solved (to some extend). As per your suggestion I changed the system language to English (US) but that didn't resolve the problem. Then from the Administrative Tab I tried changing the system Locale to English (US) i.e, the "Current Language for non-Unicode Program". This worked and now I am able to open all drawings created by previous versions. For information to ZWCAD Team I would like to say that my system setting was English(India) as because now-a-days there are lot of versions of English that can be set in Windows. Therefore, I think you should have appropriate language packs and installation should check and warn (possibly abort) of the possible consequences for choosing and trying to install incorrect language pack.
Thanks for your efforts particularly to Jenny (and her team) and Steffaa for taking time and trying to help me.

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Jenny

Manager

posts: 481

Registered: 2013-5-6

Message 29 of 29

19-11-2013 04:41 . pm | View his/her posts only
Reply 28# Tonmoy82

Hi Tonmoy, I'm so glad to know that the problem has temporary solution for you. ^_^
Thank you for sharing the information, we will try to make a better support of language pack.

change system language autocad zwcad

RL.jpg
2013-11-19 16:40
See also