CAD software discussion forum > ZW3D CAD > Constraints in Assemblies

Constraints in Assemblies

eric5935

Message 1 of 6

Constraints in Assemblies
17-11-2013 05:02 . pm | View his/her posts only
I have an assembly with two parts in it: a plate with a hole in it and a bolt

If I try to add two constraints between the bolt and the plate (one coincident to the underside of the bolt and the top face of the plate and one concentric with the inside of the hold and the bolt), then I get an overconstrained system since the plate is a part, so I cannot select individual surfaces. I tried geometric constraints for this, but eventually ran into similar problems once I constrained the geometric references to the original part to allow for dragging the complete assembly.

Is there a better way to constraint a bolt to a plate in an assembly?

I'm new to 3D cad, so any suggestions on additional books/reading that I should do would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Eric

davej

Assistant Engineer

Message 2 of 6

18-11-2013 02:05 . am | View his/her posts only
What your describing here is the very fundamental removal of some of your 6 degrees of freedom and it should and does work exactly as you tried.

If you look closely at your parts you somehow have one of them out of square. This would cause the error your getting.

By the way this technique you attempted is the only possible way to constrain a bolt to a plate. Bolt axis to hole axis or bolt od to hole id and a coincident to position the head is all you can do. Of course the bolt will still be free to rotate about it's axis but for now we won't worry about that.

I would suggest that you start over with new parts.

chris

Assistant Engineer

Message 3 of 6

18-11-2013 04:59 . am | View his/her posts only