CAD/CAM discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > Should be simple > Pt., Line, and Radius

Should be simple > Pt., Line, and Radius

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 1 of 5

 Should be simple > Pt., Line, and Radius
11-05-2004 01:56 . pm | View his/her posts only
Trying to create an arc or circle in sketcher by defining a line for tangency, a point on the line for through, and a radius. VX doesn't like it. Anyone? Is it a loose nut between the keyboard and chair?


~Dan

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 2 of 5

12-05-2004 08:21 . pm | View his/her posts only
Nope, it won't work here either.
There are two possible solutions to the arc, and the 2pt+r command doesn't give you an option to select the one you want.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 3 of 5

13-05-2004 03:51 . pm | View his/her posts only
You can do it by post-constraint like this:

1) Draw the line, constrain it's position and length;

2) Insert the point on the line in your required position. Constrain the point (at least with the point to line constraint);

3) Draw` your circle, in a temporary position away from the line - dimension it's radius or diameter;

4) Constrain the point to the circle using the point to curve constraint;

5) Constrain the circle and line to be tangent;

6) Regen the Sketch and the circle will be moved to the correct position.

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 4 of 5

17-05-2004 09:32 . am | View his/her posts only
Thanks for confirming my hypothesis, Chris

I find it quicker for me to create the circle with a point on the line, an arbitrary point, and a tangent condition of the line; then go back and post-constrain the radius and then change it to the desired radius. HOWEVER, we shouldn't have to go through this many steps! We should be able to define the tangent circle in the function as required without the 3 extra steps... or maybe I'm just lazy.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 5 of 5

17-05-2004 02:50 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Dan

Well, the Design Automation Language will do that for you, no problem
See also