CAD software discussion forum > CAD > plotting to pdf and giving pdf filename in command

plotting to pdf and giving pdf filename in command

Rank: 1

sam s.

Newbie

posts: 6

Registered: 2014-2-4

Message 1 of 10

 plotting to pdf and giving pdf filename in command
05-02-2014 08:42 . pm | View his/her posts only
is there a way to plot to pdf and naming the resulting pdf in one command, i.e without being prompted to save [the pdf] as ?

ZWCAD+ 2014 Trial version
VERNUM = "2014.01.23(19492)" (read only)

Rank: 2

Martin_S

Assistant Engineer

posts: 144

Registered: 2012-7-18

Message 2 of 10

05-02-2014 09:08 . pm | View his/her posts only
If You set Layout with Options:
Plotter Name: DWG to PDF.pc5

You type by Keyboard: PLOT, OK, OK ...result is plotetted DWG in PDF

Rank: 1

sam s.

Newbie

posts: 6

Registered: 2014-2-4

Message 3 of 10

05-02-2014 09:14 . pm | View his/her posts only
thanks, that's what I did, but with that command ZWCAD prompts me to enter the filename / directory for the resulting pdf file. That's what I want to avoid

Rank: 2

Martin_S

Assistant Engineer

posts: 144

Registered: 2012-7-18

Message 4 of 10

05-02-2014 09:23 . pm | View his/her posts only
If You set Directory and Name of DWG = NAME of File , next plotting the same File is easier

Ctrl+P, ENTER, ENTER ...thats all

Rank: 1

sam s.

Newbie

posts: 6

Registered: 2014-2-4

Message 5 of 10

05-02-2014 09:27 . pm | View his/her posts only
thx
at what place / how do you set dir and name ?
is it in page setup ?

Rank: 2

Martin_S

Assistant Engineer

posts: 144

Registered: 2012-7-18

Message 6 of 10

05-02-2014 09:39 . pm | View his/her posts only
Filedia should be set = 1, in popup window You choose Directory plotted PDF File.

Rank: 1

sam s.

Newbie

posts: 6

Registered: 2014-2-4

Message 7 of 10

05-02-2014 09:46 . pm | View his/her posts only
thanks, but that's the point : I'm looking for a way to bypass the dialog, i.e no pop-up window, no prompt

the aim is to write a Lisp program, and AutoCAD vla-get-plot isn't supported --yet-- by ZWCAD

Rank: 2

Martin_S

Assistant Engineer

posts: 144

Registered: 2012-7-18

Message 8 of 10

05-02-2014 09:56 . pm | View his/her posts only
ZWCAD+ is build as new CAD Plaform for multicore Processors, The program built from scratch. (Intellicad engine was dedicated only fore one core of Processor). We need Time to let ZWSOFT improve ZWCAD+ and ZWCAD ARCHITECTURE with similar functions like AUTOCAD.

I wait for dynamic block tools, maybe in 2015+.

Rank: 1

sam s.

Newbie

posts: 6

Registered: 2014-2-4

Message 9 of 10

05-02-2014 10:00 . pm | View his/her posts only
sure, but is there a way to plot to pdf and give a name to the pdf file in one go, with a command that doesn't require user input ?

Rank: 1

sam s.

Newbie

posts: 6

Registered: 2014-2-4

Message 10 of 10

05-02-2014 10:09 . pm | View his/her posts only
this works !!

(setvar "FILEDIA" 0)
(COMMAND "-_PLOT" "" "" "" "" "" "" "" "")
(setvar "FILEDIA" 1)

output file name is the 4th parameter

thank you very much Martin_S, you gave me the idea with FILEDIA
See also