VX Sketcher issues

Kevin

Message 1 of 13

VX Sketcher issues
01-07-2004 02:47 . pm | View his/her posts only
I admit I'm new and as yet untrained, but I have been a SW user since 97, a ThinkDesign user since 2001 and various other systems so I have managed to pick up a lot from the training manuals....but.....I have issues with the sketcher.

In every other system I have used if I fully define a sketch then drag (move) a line, say, the entities attached to the dragged line will move and stay attached - not so in VX. Why? It appears after much experimentation that only changing dimensions will keep the sketch intact. After the free and easy methods of SW and Think I'm finding this behavior a bit had to handle. As a designer I sometimes prefer not to fully define a sketch but drag the entity visually.

I'm just wondering do I have this behaviour all wrong, or if I am correct why is VX built this way considering it is aimed so much at the ID market. And will this be changed in v10?

To see what I mean, create a square (4 lines), autoconstrain it then drag (move) one of the lines. The end points break the attachment. Surely this can't be right? Is this just down to there being no end to end constraint (no pun intended).

Anyone?

Kevin

Message 2 of 13

02-07-2004 12:48 . pm | View his/her posts only
One more thing.

Although the stretch tool is intended (I assume) to cater for the entity dragging it does not work for tangent constraints.

For example. In sketch mode, select the standard slot tool and draw a slot. The constraints are automatically applied. Now use the stretch tool and select one end of the slot (arc and line tangent points) and move to a new location. The tangency breaks up at both ends.