CAD/CAM discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > Creating Gate and Runners in Molds

Creating Gate and Runners in Molds

John

Message 1 of 22

Creating Gate and Runners in Molds
15-10-2004 05:39 . pm | View his/her posts only
I'm new to both VX and mold design, so perhaps I missing something here. Are there tools in VX Mold & Die to help create the runners and gates for my molds?

If not, what's a good method for creating these? Do I need to create a part that takes my plastic part and adds the gates and runners by simply creating objects? And then make cores and cavities from these?

Thanks,
-- John

ChrisWard2k2

Message 2 of 22

17-10-2004 04:40 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi John

VX does not have specific commands to produce gates and runners, everything you need is easy to define with the general solid modeling tools. The approach really depends on the item in hand. I would recommend that you have a seperate Part Object as the "target" mould tool preparation object for the mould (create the new Part Object, then use "insert component" to bring an instance of the model in. Use "merge component" to change this into workable geometry). This object will be scaled to allow for shrinkage, it's orientation adjusted to suit the mould, then arrayed (patterned) if the tool is multi-cavity. The runners can be quickly produced, just draw their centerlines in a Sketch, then use the Solid Primative "rod" command, selecting the Sketch curves as prompted.

So, your file will consist of a number of objects. If the geometry originates from elsewhere, Create a Part Object for the import, leaving the data as-is, and a further object for Import Data repair:

01_Imported_Geom
02_Geom_Repair
03_Design_Object (Native VX or requested mods of imported geom)
04_Tool_Prep_Object
05_Core_Cavity_Geom
06_Mould_Assembly

John

Message 3 of 22

17-10-2004 10:23 . pm | View his/her posts only
Thanks! That's what I needed to know.

ChrisWard2k2

Message 4 of 22