CAD/CAM discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > Rendering Options

Rendering Options

Rank: 1

Eli

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-28

Message 1 of 27

 Rendering Options
10-11-2004 11:16 . pm | View his/her posts only
I have a question about rendering. I have been able to make some decnet rederings of a boat I've been working on, but I would really like to do the rendering so the model is rendered on water. Is it possible to import backround scenes/surface data etc. into vx for rendering?
-Eli

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 2 of 27

11-11-2004 04:24 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Eli

It's a big subject of course, but the answer is absolutely yes! I must admit that our rendering interface is a little quirky and not as User-friendly as it could be, but it can deliver superb results.

Some time ago, I put together a Render Studio, with a selection of materials bitmaps, a tutorial and FAQ. The picture below right is the subject of the tutorial:




Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 3 of 27

11-11-2004 10:24 . am | View his/her posts only
I agree, this is one area where VX is "quirky" alright!! I cheat as I do have rendering apps available so i tend to just export the data to them for rendering...but I would like to know how to do it properly in VX, and the help system is a bit thin on the ground when it comes to rendering....so, where can we get this rendering tutorial Chris?

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 4 of 27

11-11-2004 10:26 . am | View his/her posts only
BTW I don't have a problem with quirky interfaces....Ashlar's Cobalt rendering is quirky as well.....its the results that matter. Its usually just a question of getting the hang of it and understanding the parameters. Once you understand then you still have the "other" issues to handle like lighting, texture, etc etc that happens in every app.

Rank: 1

Eli

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-28

Message 5 of 27

11-11-2004 11:02 . am | View his/her posts only
Chris,
THat picture comes through as corrupted. I really don't mind the interface too much, it's more figuring out how to do things that seem out of scope with the options that are available (like adding backrounds).
-Eli

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 6 of 27

11-11-2004 01:43 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Eli

Do you mean that you cannot see the images clearly in the forum window (corrupted is a broad description)? I have ensured that the picture is a low K gif. If you right-click on the picture, you should be able to save it to your hard drive, then view it with your favourite viewer.

The Render Studio package is big. I will see what can be done to get it to you.

Rank: 1

Eli

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-28

Message 7 of 27

11-11-2004 02:12 . pm | View his/her posts only
Chris,
I downloaded the image, and it still does not work. No biggie really. As far as getting the Render Studio package, I have a gmail account which allows for any size attachment., so you might be able to send it there.
-Eli

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 8 of 27

11-11-2004 10:10 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Eli

The package is approx 300MB, so my e-mail cannot handle it

It's CD or FTP I think. Used to be on the Public FTP but has been removed. Probably because it hogs too much space.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 9 of 27

11-11-2004 10:13 . pm | View his/her posts only
By the way Eli,

Though it is not import to be able to see that forum image, the fact that you cannot see it, even when downloaded, indicates a problem.

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 10 of 27

12-11-2004 04:19 . am | View his/her posts only
As regards seeing images on the forum I do have issues seeing pics that are attached. Sometimes they are just not there. I've attached a screendump of Chris's post

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 11 of 27

12-11-2004 06:15 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi again

Well, I have checked on 2 PCs (in different buildings) and also asked Chris Panes of IDS UK to check. Both the PCs I used could view the pictures no problem. Chris Panes only sees the white-square-red-cross replacement for an image. This is usually an option setting in Internet Explorer. If you have WindowsXP SP2 installed, it is possible that a setting specific to "forum images" or "embedded images" may have come into play. I'm not sure because I do not have SP2 on my machines - however, I am a member of a website design forum and there is talk of issues such as this. I shall try to find out more.

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 12 of 27

12-11-2004 09:28 . am | View his/her posts only
Odd. I am running XP SP2 on both machines here and the issue is the same on both, but it also happens on the 2 Macs as well viewing using Safari under Mac OSX.3.6. Are you using the attach method to add the pictures or the image button method (can't figure how that works anyway myself!!). I've looked into the settings for IE but can't see any settings for images. The graphics setting for this forum is set to enhanced as well.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 13 of 27

12-11-2004 10:52 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Kevin

If you view the forum help, you can see that images are embedded into a thread using an html-like string. I'm wondering also if the source server for forum attachments is not always accessible.

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 14 of 27

12-11-2004 03:51 . pm | View his/her posts only
I've always had the same trouble as 3Dmonkey, I've never seen any of the images you post Chris...
Maybe it is the VX server?
I know I've posted a several pictures that always seem to show up, so I don't think it is the browsers in question.

(CAUTION: Shameless Buell collection)



Does that picture work for everyone?

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 15 of 27

12-11-2004 04:41 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Steve

Shame on you!

I think it could be a Server problem, but I still don't know why some people can see the pics and others can't........

I can see yours, can you see mine now? (UK server).

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 16 of 27

12-11-2004 05:02 . pm | View his/her posts only
Quote

I can see yours, can you see mine now?



Yup. And seeing it now, I WANT that tutorial

Rank: 1

Eli

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-28

Message 17 of 27

12-11-2004 08:17 . pm | View his/her posts only
I can see ti now too...and I would definitely like that tutorial. Perhaps Chris, you could post it as a torrent for bittorrent download, and the rest of us could download it that way. Maybe not enough people to make it efficient, though.
-Eli

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 18 of 27

15-11-2004 05:15 . am | View his/her posts only
Must be a UK thing. Still not seeing any pics from Chris

Can see the Buell collection though (wonder how they are getting on with Think Design......)

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 19 of 27

15-11-2004 05:17 . am | View his/her posts only
Hey you can tell its Monday......Just seen Chris's pics in his original post!! It works now!!

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 20 of 27

15-11-2004 10:06 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi chaps

Well, compressed as a winrar archive with a few non-essential files deleted, the package is 130MB


Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 21 of 27

15-11-2004 02:48 . pm | View his/her posts only

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 22 of 27

16-11-2004 04:30 . pm | View his/her posts only
Quote

wonder how they are getting on with Think Design


Dunno how WELL they are doing with it. But the whole XB series was designed with it. As are some "future" products. Don't ask me how I know, I can't tell ya
I live smack in the center between the Buell Factory in East Troy, WI, and the Harley factory in Milwaukee. So, I see a few of their files now and then

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 23 of 27

14-12-2004 03:55 . am | View his/her posts only
Chris

Where can i get hold of this tutorial on rendering? you mentioned a RAR file. Where is that?

Ockert

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 24 of 27

14-12-2004 01:38 . pm | View his/her posts only
Yeah, how about it. Where is that tutorial?

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 25 of 27

14-12-2004 06:18 . pm | View his/her posts only
Sorry guys, has not been for the lack of trying, we have an ftp glitch at the moment. Soon as the file is uploaded, I will let the forum know.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 26 of 27

14-12-2004 08:23 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi again

OK, still not sure why we cannot get the file on to the VX FTP Server. Rather than keep you waiting, I have uploaded the file to my own website.

You will find the file on:

ftp://www.professorcad.co.uk/vxrender/


Please email me for a Username and Password to access the file.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 27 of 27

15-12-2004 09:58 . am | View his/her posts only
Hello All

Some good news at last, the Studio is now available for download from the VX Corp FTP site:

http://www.vx.com/ftp_access/postfile.cfm

The file is called "VxRenderStudio.rar". It is actually CD ready, so you can extract the rar file and save the contents (324MB) to CD if you wish. The CD will run automatically. To run from your hard drive, double-click "Start.exe".

The tutorials are movies, recorded in earlier versions of VX, so the interface for some commands has changed a bit. You can pause a movie at any time. When you install the Studio Files, please take time to run the "Show Me!" intro, it will help your understanding. There is also a short FAQ section which reveals trade secrets

This is not going to make you an expert overnight, but you will be able to produce convincing images pretty quickly.

See also