CAD/CAM discussion forum > Other CAD/CAM Technology > Tips in creating a robust model?

Tips in creating a robust model?

OldForumPost

Message 1 of 14

Tips in creating a robust model?
06-10-2005 12:45 . am | View his/her posts only
Lately I have been having trouble with my models crashing during seemingly random executions. The longer the model histories get, the more often VX crashes.

My current models have about 140 to 160 history operations so far. I'm a beginner at VX so I know that I have a lot of unnecessary and blanked steps in my model histories.

What tips or workarounds have you found to help in creating robust models?

My tip: I found that when modifying connection points and lines in lofts, drive curve lofts, bi-rail lofts and most likely any other place connection points and lines are found, USE WIREFRAME VIEWING MODE. When in shaded mode it seems to crash a lot more often.

Disclaimer: I'm not sure if it is a hardware problem, video card driver problem, VX program problem, or my model history problem.

Kevin

Message 2 of 14

06-10-2005 05:21 . am | View his/her posts only

Originally posted by: clintonyee

When in shaded mode it seems to crash a lot more often.

To me this would imply some kind of issue with the VX/graphics card combo. What are you using?

ChrisWard2k2

Message 3 of 14

06-10-2005 11:43 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Clinton