CAD software discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > Angular constraint issues

Angular constraint issues

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 1 of 8

 Angular constraint issues
07-03-2006 04:06 . pm | View his/her posts only
In 11.6 I'm having problems applying angular dimensional constraints. The workaround is to use horizontal and vertical dimensional constraints, which works but 75% of the time I try the angualr dim I get an error message. Anybody got any tips of known issues? It is not an issue of over definition, the dim constrant just refuses to take sometimes.

Rank: 1

Mike

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-28

Message 2 of 8

13-04-2006 11:10 . am | View his/her posts only
Kevin,

The time has come to upgrade. Creating angular dimensions is much more reliable in Version 12.3.

Try it - You'll like it!

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 3 of 8

13-04-2006 11:43 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Kevin

Can you email me a simple Sketch that exhibits the problem?

Rank: 1

Mark

Newbie

posts: 83

Registered: 2011-7-11

Message 4 of 8

20-04-2006 11:03 . am | View his/her posts only
Version 11.2 also exhibits this.
I reported it to my vendor

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 5 of 8

20-04-2006 12:58 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi All

The current versions of VX are v11.80 and v12.30. If the problem is in v11.60, then it is not a suprise to find that it is in v11.20, the time span between them is short. This is why I requested an example, since it could be that this particular fault is also in the latest releases.

http://support.vx.com/customers/index.cfm

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 6 of 8

21-04-2006 04:26 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Chris,

I will attempt to get round to this soon. I've been having to use other software for a big job we have running at the moment....

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 7 of 8

21-04-2006 09:20 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Kevin

That sounds alarming - you are using another application because of the angular dimension constraints problem you have found in VX?

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 8 of 8

21-04-2006 10:51 . am | View his/her posts only
:-) No Chris

Part of the joy of working with a diverse range of customers in a diverse range of industries is that you have to give them what they want....yesterday. In this case it was/is reworking of some 200+ 2D autocad drawings for use on a product CD. Mind numbing work but hey, it pays the bills, including the annual maintenance for VX :-)

In this particular case I have used VectorWorks and Ashlar-Vellum Graphite. Why? Well VectorWorks has some excellent 2D plug in objects for generating parametric objects in a few clicks, and Graphite, well nothing is faster for 2D editing.

For this kind of work I don't need constraints or 3D, so I don't need to use VX or anything else. Why use a 5 axes CNC to drill a hole in a block of wood ;-)
See also