Vista and VX?

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 1 of 6

 Vista and VX?
07-07-2006 05:43 . pm | View his/her posts only
Has any one run VX on the latest public beta of Vista?
I'm tempted to try it out.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 2 of 6

09-07-2006 07:11 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Steve

VX has not been compiled to run on Vista. If it does run, note that it has not been tried and tested by us for production use. I think it is a bit scary to run your PC on a Beta OS, make sure you have a good back-up first.

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 3 of 6

10-07-2006 02:22 . pm | View his/her posts only
I'd doing the vista thing on a 2nd partition on my personal Dell laptop. I'd never do something like this to a work machine.

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 4 of 6

21-09-2006 10:41 . pm | View his/her posts only
BTW, anyone thinking about doing the Vista thing and VX. I'd advise NOT doing it. OpenGL Graphics performance is seriously suffering under Vista. Even with Vista compiled Nvidia Drivers.



Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 5 of 6

23-09-2006 03:25 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hi Steve

Thank you for that tip. Microsoft, bless their cotton socks, was expecting the entire CAD-CAM industry to simply move over to their own Direct X technology. Direct X is very good, but everyone has a mile of code supporting OpenGL. Oh joy!

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 6 of 6

23-09-2006 09:12 . pm | View his/her posts only
Yes, and It's unlikely that PTC, UG, and others really want another code base for graphics. They aren't about to STOP development on Linux, and other 'nixes as well.

Hopefully they will fix this before the actual release dates.
The problem with it is funny. When just rotating shaded obejcts it's fine. But selecting it, you can see watch it re-paint the object as it changes color.
See also