Circle at a plane

John

Message 1 of 19

Circle at a plane
22-08-2006 03:15 . pm | View his/her posts only
I am new to VX, but have many years experience on other 3D CAD/CAM systems. I am finding that many simple tasks need more steps in VX than are required for the actual solution. I realize that as a sketch this is no problem, but as 3D geometry I see no solution "without creating additional geometry". In my attached file are a point and a curve in 3D space. I want to create a 1/2" radius circle using the point as the center and the curve as the normal of the plane on which the curve will reside.

Steve

Message 2 of 19

22-08-2006 04:35 . pm | View his/her posts only
You don't have to create and extra geometry to do what you want to do...
I've attached a simple solution to your example adding only one operation. Sometimes, yes, you have to create "extra" geometry to accomplish a goal. But I honestly don't see it as *MUCH* different than any other mainstream mcad app. And the VX benefits outweigh the differences

The solution to your problem is simple.

go to the insert menu, wireframe=> Circle==> Radius, Center.

1st point: Choose anwhere along the line
2nd point: Choose anywhere else along the line.
Center: Choose your point.
Enter the radius value. And Voila'!!

ChrisWard2k2

Message 3 of 19

23-08-2006 06:30 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi bottlecad

To produce a circle (or several circles at the same time) where your line is normal to the plane of the circle, you do need to create a plane first, but no extra geometry is required. The attached flash movie shows how (double-click to run in Internet Explorer).

John

Message 4 of 19

23-08-2006 08:43 . am | View his/her posts only
Chris,