CAD software discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > optimize for running VX

optimize for running VX

Rank: 1

cutter

Newbie

posts: 55

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 1 of 10

 optimize for running VX
10-11-2006 11:59 . am | View his/her posts only
Question, Does anyone have suggestions for best settings to run VX on a laptop with a 1500M quadro card and a 7400 duocore 2 processor?

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 2 of 10

10-11-2006 05:20 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hello cutter

Sounds like a very good spec, but you have not mentioned the RAM size or hardrive capacity. One tip would be to make your pagefile a generous size, and make that a fixed size - if you allow Windows to change the size dynamically, when it has to, it takes a month of Sundays.

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 3 of 10

10-11-2006 11:06 . pm | View his/her posts only
...a lot times the factory defaults, if you buy a new system, has old poor craphic drivers. A update here help

Rank: 1

cutter

Newbie

posts: 55

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 4 of 10

11-11-2006 12:36 . am | View his/her posts only
This laptop has 2 meg of ram. It also has a 120 gig 5200rpm hard drive. The 7400rpm hard drive only had a 2.5 millisecond seek time improvement, from 12.5 down to 10, so I figured no big improvement there. I drew a tube with 3660 2mm holes in it and it took 32 minutes to complete the patterning function. This was by the way 11 minutes faster than my desktop with a 3.4 p4 , a 6800 ultra graphics card and 2meg of ram. I just figured that with all the nvidia settings possible that there may be an optimal setup here for VX. There are a lot of settings there but I do not want to blindly fiddle with them so I am here looking now for info. Dave Ault

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 5 of 10

11-11-2006 07:28 . am | View his/her posts only
In general I have made no changes on my NVIDIA settings only one thing I use only 16 BIT for the color display, that gives a better GUI feedback inside the VX CAM tree. For your pattern, it should be okay with 12.55 or later that means there are some speed improvemts. But there is a trick to speed up the pattern, make a extruded shape on the place for your 2MM hole, use now the pattern, pick filter shape and do now the pattern with the option boolean remove. The developer explained me it is a big difference ... if you pattern a feature VX makes the feature on each place for the pattern and that need

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 6 of 10

11-11-2006 09:48 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi cutter

A lot of people would go for the 7200 drive because with giant CAD files, especially when the disk is fragmented, the difference can noticeable. If you use VX Session Management, the need for hard drive speed is reduced. It is also true that the 5400 drives are a bit more robust and reliable - better suited for the rigors of the laptop environment. If you really are using this machine on your lap, be careful because they output a tremendous amount of heat and can actually cause injury!

Rank: 1

cutter

Newbie

posts: 55

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 7 of 10

02-01-2007 09:38 . am | View his/her posts only
Took quite a while for me to get back to this post as Dad had cancer and some significant time was spent out at his house and then catching up when I got back. Chris, the specs on the hard drives were 10.5 millisecs seek for the 5400 rpm and 9 millisecs on the 7200 rpm. There did not appear to be a significant difference to me here to give up the larger capacity. There is a new harddrive out on the Dell site with a 10,000 rpm and if I remember right a 5 or 3 millisec seek time. But as with all faster speeds there is from what I hear a real penalty in battery life. I should have asked the question in a different way I suppose as what I was really looking for in this thread was feedback on specific settings for the graphics card. Thanks all for your replies, Dave Ault

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 8 of 10

02-01-2007 01:11 . pm | View his/her posts only
......losing a whole millisecond is unbearable for some

Rank: 1

cutter

Newbie

posts: 55

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 9 of 10

02-01-2007 07:00 . pm | View his/her posts only
TomTe, would it be possible for me to send you a file? I looked for the boolean remove that you mention but what I find makes no sense to me. Perhaps if you see my file you could show me how to implement this. Thanks,Dave Ault. fieldweld@highstream.net

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 10 of 10

03-01-2007 09:21 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi again Dave

One thing to note, it is your CPU number crunching power that is the most critical for things like the pattern-of-holes example you mention, not the graphics card (GPU). When a shaded display during an operation/manipulation is an extra strain on the system, the simplest thing to do is simply have the display in wireframe mode and return to shaded view afterwards.
See also