CAD software discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > Finally got my iMac runing VX with GOOD performance.

Finally got my iMac runing VX with GOOD performance.

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 1 of 10

 Finally got my iMac runing VX with GOOD performance.
31-03-2007 11:19 . pm | View his/her posts only
I've been runing boot camp on an Intel iMac, for several months now. The 3D performance was outstanding. But for some reason, the 2D just plainly SUCKED! Dimensioning was frustrating. The Cursor would lag behind mouse movements by several seconds for some reason.

But I decided to take a chance and use a different set of video drivers. Now the ATI web site does NOT let you download new Mobility Radeon drivers for the iMac. But an enterprising individual has modified the original Catalyst ATI driver suite for more performance.

This is where you can download the Win2K/XP drivers.
http://www.omegadrivers.net/ati/win2k_xp.php

I can say, at this point. The performance of the Radeon Mobility 1600 with these drivers is almost on par with my Nvidia GeForce 7950GT right now. 2D has improved dramatically.
This will almost certainly work with other PCs running the more recent radeon video card chipsets.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 2 of 10

01-04-2007 08:02 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Steve

Sounds great......but you have posted on April 01?

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 3 of 10

01-04-2007 03:17 . pm | View his/her posts only
No, this isn't an April fools joke

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 4 of 10

16-04-2007 05:59 . am | View his/her posts only
Don't worry Steve, when I get VX running on my new 8 core Mac......

Mike (Lang) try that link for the Apple laptop you guys are using for VX

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 5 of 10

16-04-2007 08:34 . am | View his/her posts only
Thanks Kevin, I'll pass this on to our resident MAc expert to test.

Rank: 1

randy

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-5-21

Message 6 of 10

16-04-2007 08:38 . am | View his/her posts only
We have a reseller in the US running VX on a MacMini with great sucess.
He gave me a demo and I could not believe the performance from an on board graphics card running VX and MoldExpert.

Regards,
Randy Biebel
VX Corp

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 7 of 10

16-04-2007 08:47 . am | View his/her posts only
....well, that could be thanks to VX's native speed and the fact that Apple have adopted PC components like the Intel processors (Mac mini with an Intel Core Duo runs up to five times faster than previously). Imagine how good an Apple would be with WindowsXP on board

Rank: 1

Jason

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2007-4-16

Message 8 of 10

16-04-2007 09:01 . am | View his/her posts only
I am running VX in windows on a G5 Laptop Mac using the free give away BOOTCAMP. Personally I think its great to have the flexibility of a stable platform of MAC, with ability to use windows (NOT through a virtual, but as an independent operating system) as and when you need to allowing windows applications to run on MAC.

I have to say, that I still get windows blue screen like on many PC's and long to get back to the Mac, but VX is sound in this environment.

Cross plat-forming is back guys and can only help to bring the most to the user.

We have had some issues with the ATI graphics, but very little. These problems are not with the G5 workstation which ships with NVIDIA. I am sure that the performance with the dual boot Macs will allow us time to sort out the little niggles.

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 9 of 10

16-04-2007 03:19 . pm | View his/her posts only
Quote

Originally posted by: ChrisW
....well, that could be thanks to VX's native speed and the fact that Apple have adopted PC components like the Intel processors (Mac mini with an Intel Core Duo runs up to five times faster than previously). Imagine how good an Apple would be with WindowsXP on board


Yup, it'll catch virii, malware and blue screen with the best of PCs

:-P

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 10 of 10

16-04-2007 07:47 . pm | View his/her posts only
....ah, but with todays advanced PC BIOS you can crash to a different colour screen (one for each day/hour?)
See also