CAD/CAM discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > CATIA translators

CATIA translators

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 1 of 6

 CATIA translators
12-06-2007 04:39 . pm | View his/her posts only
I vaguely remember some discussion about this topic before, but couldn't find it in the archives.

What are the pros and cons of the CCE and TM translators with respect to CATIA files?

Thanks

Steve

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 2 of 6

13-06-2007 02:24 . am | View his/her posts only
Steve,

Can't comment on the VX translators but I have been involved with beta testing Adobe Acrobat 3D v8 these last few months and that app will open virtually any format available (including Catia v4 and v5) and let you save it using the original data (eg NURBS surfaces as opposed to facet format) and save it out to Parasolid, STEP or IGES. Also a lot of software out there now based on ACIS will open and save the CATIA v4 format. Examples are Ashlar-Vellum Argon/Xenon/Cobalt, IronCad, Concepts Unlimited to name a few. I think IronCAD also has a Spatial CATIA v5 read/write as an extra cost option (and being Spatial it is the "proper" one).

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 3 of 6

13-06-2007 11:15 . am | View his/her posts only
Kevin,

Thanks for the info. I downloaded a demo of Acrobat 3D last year. It looks like it has come a long way since then - probably worth the price just for the translators.

Steve

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 4 of 6

13-06-2007 08:41 . pm | View his/her posts only
Hello Steve

VX Corp is no longer working with the CCE product as an integrated translator. The Transmagic product has improved in leaps and bounds. TM v7 has just been released and will be working with a near-future VX release, well worth a look. The best approach really is to conduct your own tests to see how the various products work with your data.

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 5 of 6

14-06-2007 05:24 . am | View his/her posts only
v8 has just been released so you can get a 30 day evaluation and see how that works for you.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 6 of 6

14-06-2007 05:40 . am | View his/her posts only
For those that are curious, TransMagic can be tested as a stand-alone:

TransMagic Free Tryout

See also