CAD software discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > Fractional dimensions on a drawing sheet

Fractional dimensions on a drawing sheet

Rank: 1

Mike

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-28

Message 1 of 11

 Fractional dimensions on a drawing sheet
01-08-2007 08:37 . am | View his/her posts only
I would like to take a poll of the forum users.

There is an enhancement in our PCR system to add fractions ( i.e. 2 1/16 ) in addition to decimal dimensions. VX has never had this function before but I am trying to find out how wide spread the need is. I personally would like to see it but before I can interrupt high priority scheduled projects I would like to get a sense of urgency from this distinguished gathering.

Thanks,

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 2 of 11

01-08-2007 01:51 . pm | View his/her posts only
I'd like to see it.

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 314

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 3 of 11

01-08-2007 05:32 . pm | View his/her posts only
From Pacific Rim
Decimals are KING.
Absolutely no demand in this part of the world.

Rank: 1

voestalpine

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 4 of 11

03-08-2007 02:08 . am | View his/her posts only
Our customers and suppliers in europe working only with decimal

Piet V
voestalpine Polynorm van Niftrik

Rank: 2

chris

Assistant Engineer

posts: 47

Registered: 2011-5-24

Message 5 of 11

06-08-2007 03:26 . pm | View his/her posts only
I have had a need for fractions, so I vote yes

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 6 of 11

07-08-2007 03:20 . am | View his/her posts only
My point of view of prioritizing features for VX to work on are
"Which new features will allow me to make more money?"

This can be answered in two main ways:
1. Ability to land new contracts - brings in the $
2. Save time or money once the contract is landed - Stability and speed
3. Quality of output - value to customer in terms of quality of deliverable, get repeat business

In relation to this thread, I am sure there are other things VX can work on that will more the above 3 items forward faster than being able to dimension in fractions.

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 7 of 11

09-08-2007 02:39 . am | View his/her posts only
As much as it pains me to say it I do need this as I have customers in the USA still sticking to inches. Nobody else uses them though.

What we really need though is dual dimensioning - metric and fractional inches (with ability to set the inch fraction - 2/4/5/8/16/32/64). This just saves confusion!

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 8 of 11

09-08-2007 06:34 . am | View his/her posts only
We may not have fractions, but we do have dual dimensioning.

Rank: 1

Kevin

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-4-26

Message 9 of 11

10-08-2007 09:53 . am | View his/her posts only
Yes but you know how customers are Chris.....ANYTHING decimal throws them!!

This makes interesting reading BTW - see the map!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metric_system

Rank: 1

Robert

Newbie

posts: 1

Registered: 2006-6-9

Message 10 of 11

10-08-2007 01:07 . pm | View his/her posts only
A yes vote here.

Bob

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 11 of 11

10-08-2007 06:51 . pm | View his/her posts only
Let's not argue about fractions and decimals -adopt binary dimensions instead
See also