CAD/CAM discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > Does VX 12 work with Vista

Does VX 12 work with Vista

Rank: 1

Paul

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-7-12

Message 1 of 14

 Does VX 12 work with Vista
22-01-2009 12:50 . pm | View his/her posts only
I will be getting a laptop that uses Windows Vista. Would there be any compatability issues with VX version 12?

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 2 of 14

22-01-2009 01:58 . pm | View his/her posts only

Hi Paulverisor

The first to spring to mind is that the default location for the VX User Folder is within Program Files - during the VX install, be sure to change this to another location (v13 and up default to My Documents). Folders containing User-customized CAM files should be saved in the VX User Folder.

Performance of large applications like CAD-CAM under 32bit Vista is not as good as 32bit XP. Vista Business Edition is the closest to XP because it does not have the Aero interface.

The Windows User of VX v12 will need to have Administrator Privileges. The HASP dongle could be an issue. The driver supplied with VX v12 is for XP. A Vista driver is available on the Alladin website. VX v12.93 was the last and best v12, I will check with the relevant developer to see if v12.93 will recognize the Vista HASP driver.

Rank: 1

Paul

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-7-12

Message 3 of 14

23-01-2009 07:17 . am | View his/her posts only
Hi Chris,

Since the latest VX version would install the VX User Folder within My Documents would it make sense for me to change the user folder to this location?

Thank you for your help.

Hopefully the hasp driver will not be an issue.

Paul

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 4 of 14

23-01-2009 08:11 . am | View his/her posts only

My Documents is a good place for the VX User Folder.

For those people using Desktop PCs that have more than one drive, I advise saving your data (your VX files etc) on one of the other drives - since C is the system drive, it is the most vulnerable to failure.

I'm still awaiting other VX personnel to contribute to this thread, to be sure that there is no show-stopping reason to avoid using VX v12 on Vista. However, Microsoft have extended their arrangement with the mainstream laptop manufacturers that allows the free replacement of Vista with XP, should the need arise. The fact that the arrangement exists tells you all you need to know about Vista performance....

Rank: 1

Mike

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-28

Message 5 of 14

23-01-2009 05:25 . pm | View his/her posts only
Paul,

I think you have already spoken with Krystyn about this but Version 12 can be made to work with Vista. I suggest installing the USER directory in UsersPublic. This is where version 13 and 14 go. It has something to do with permissions. The user directory will end up being C:UsersPublicVXCorpUser-12.93.
You should let WINDOWS install the driver for your USB hardware key. WINDOWS will detect the new device and ask if you want to install the driver. By all means let it!! Otherwise, the hardware key driver must be downloaded from Aladdin.com. The driver on the V12 CD is too old.
You may also want to Right-click on the VX icon - properties - Compatibility - set the compatibility with Win XP. Don't do this until or unless you need to.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 6 of 14

26-01-2009 07:45 . pm | View his/her posts only

Hi Paulverisor

Mike has confirmed that the Hasp driver delivered with VX v13 works on Vista, so you can use that one.

Rank: 1

Mike

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-28

Message 7 of 14

15-02-2009 10:47 . am | View his/her posts only
Good suggestions.
In fact, V14 will automatically set the Compatibility Mode to Win XP.
For CAM XML Export to capture the image properly you need to "Disable desktop composition". Again V14 will do this.
I personally have never seen a need to "Run as Administrator".

Speaking of V14, when you do install it in a few short weeks, DO NOT import your vxconfig file. There are a lot of new options. You will want to edit the new default vxconfig.

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 8 of 14

16-02-2009 05:40 . am | View his/her posts only
V14, A few short weeks??? You're kidding, right?

Rank: 1

Mike

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-28

Message 9 of 14

16-02-2009 08:04 . am | View his/her posts only
I hope you didn't misunderstand my comment. It will take you a few short weeks to install V14!! ha, ha. That was a joke!

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 10 of 14

16-02-2009 09:43 . am | View his/her posts only
Quote

Originally posted by: LynchMikeVX
I hope you didn't misunderstand my comment. It will take you a few short weeks to install V14!! ha, ha. That was a joke!


Ahhah! I knew you couldn't have meant it was going to be released in a "few short weeks"

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 11 of 14

17-02-2009 05:34 . am | View his/her posts only

VX v12 needed an Administrator to run for two reasons, firstly because it was writing files to the Windows Program Files folder (because that's where the VX User folder was installed by default). It also required Administrator to perform Rendering, a separate executable. That might also be because of file location but I think it is also related to networking (the old VX renderer had provision for rendering across a network, i.e. using more CPUs, but was not enabled). So, avoiding the default User Folder location on install will make a difference.

Rank: 1

Robert

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 12 of 14

23-02-2009 02:20 . pm | View his/her posts only
March 1, 2009

believe it!

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-9

Message 13 of 14

06-03-2009 11:11 . am | View his/her posts only
Quote

Originally posted by: bobf4fun
March 1, 2009



believe it!


Well, some new manuals came out on March 1st, but I don't see VX14

Rank: 1

Mike

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-28

Message 14 of 14

09-03-2009 08:11 . am | View his/her posts only
Let's continue this on the V14 coming soon??? thread.
See also