CAD/CAM discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > Sketcher. Lines connected at endpoints, no constraints displayed

Sketcher. Lines connected at endpoints, no constraints displayed

    
  Subscribe Topic

Rank: 2

Mark

Assistant Engineer

posts: 100

Registered: 2011-7-11

Message 1 of 3

 Sketcher. Lines connected at endpoints, no constraints displayed
06-03-2012 08:37 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Version 2012 and all previous VX releases.

If you draw a line using 'Smartpick' and connect it to the endpoint of an existing line, it constrains it to the end point of that line, but, the constraint symbols are not displayed, therefore cannot be edited, or deleted.

All othe constraints are displayed, just not these.

It is frustrating to say the least.

Mark.
Connection.jpg
2012-3-6 20:36

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Colin

Manager

posts: 144

Registered: 2012-1-19

Message 2 of 3

07-03-2012 10:52 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Hi, Mark, thanks for your feedback, it is quite necessary to add the point constraint symbol. And you could use ID 1986 for the tracking purpose in the future.

In case if anyone want to delete the point constraint for the connected lines, for the moment, please use the right click menu and choose Move Entity to skip the point constraint.

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Paul

Moderator

posts: 354

Registered: 2011-9-17

Message 3 of 3

08-03-2012 06:32 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Hi Guys,
Careful with this one....

adding the indication of this constraint will ad a LOT of extra clutter to the screen.
The MOVE tools readily allow the constraint to be broken or just draw another line where you want and delete or trim the dead one.

In 2012 the contraint markers are opague and can obscure a lot of the sketch. Also some dimensions get covered. until, some form of tranparency of these markers is achieved, please do not add any more.

I would suggest that the old wisdom of not having the implied constraint visible is good wisdom. Any change will have other implications that may be worse than the current situation.

A bigger problem is when trimming does NOT add the implied constraint! This means you have to that manually. Fix this first please.

Cheers
See also
X