CAD/CAM discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > Video Boards & Driver Best Practices for nVidia & others - Settings

Video Boards & Driver Best Practices for nVidia & others - Settings

Subscribe Topic

Factorytuned

Message 1 of 8

Video Boards & Driver Best Practices for nVidia & others - Settings
01-09-2012 12:31 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by Factorytuned at 2012-9-5 21:40

I want start a thread on best practices for Video settings as it seems there are several settings that impact the performance of ZW3D (We need a new name for this software.)

Okay, it would be nice if we could build a video board and driver profile set and post these best practice and settings here. This will help, well the development team, as well as and more importantly in the short term, us the users... I'm a 20 year veteran computer system integrater and have access to lots of hardware, and software in use in the field in primarily manufacturing environments.

That said, I only sell and support MS, Intel, and along with Nvidia graphic processors and related hardware. We need some profiles on how the OpenGL vs software acceleration work within Z3D and what OTHER video boards, hardware and drivers are used and may work better or not suffer from the same issues.

I will share my findings and on what platforms. We need this FAQ badly, as there are settings that effect, as mentioned, performance and the erratum I've seen with these setting.

This is primarily related to the CAM side and solid model verify, but also affects, the CAD side with visual effects, lines, arcs, surfaces and the like as well as how well the pick apperture works and how surfaces are represented, ghosting etc.. As well as general 2D performance in a 3D space. GUI is also impacted, menus, input performance within fields, etc..