CAD/CAM discussion forum > ZW3D CAM > Problem 2x spiralcut and 2x profil

Problem 2x spiralcut and 2x profil

    
  Subscribe Topic

Rank: 2

ZW3DUser

Assistant Engineer

posts: 64

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 1 of 21

 Problem 2x spiralcut and 2x profil
05-03-2013 03:26 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Hello.

I have one question about ZW3D 2012 SP2.

There is a problem with 2xspiralcut, when i use RadiusOffset and "spiral_outward" direction.
ZW3D will turn on the RadiusOffset (G41) in the middle of the ISO code.

N17 G00 X-129.8 Y17.771 M8
N18 G00 Z100.
N19 G00 Z2.5
N20 G01 Y25. Z-1.673 F50
N21 X-130. Y25.2 Z-1.837
N22 X-130.2 Y25. Z-2.
N23 X-130.1 Y25.025
N24 Y25. F100
N25 X-130.149 Y-14.99
N26 X-130.103 Y-15.103
N27 X-130. Y-15.145
N28 X-129.897 Y-15.103
N29 X-129.85 Y-14.99
N30 X-129.801 Y25.
N31 X-129.859 Y25.141
N32 X-130. Y25.2
N33 X-130.141 Y25.141
N34 X-130.2 Y25.
N35 G41 X-133.977 Y-15.384 F250 <---- !!!!!!!!!!! here no G41 is used at the moment
N36 X-133.611 Y-16.579
N37 X-130.821 Y-19.014
N38 X-129.347 Y-18.92
N39 X-128.165 Y-18.532
N40 X-127.159 Y-17.796
N41 X-126.429 Y-16.784
N42 X-126.061 Y-15.649
N43 X-122.186 Y25.774

Please see pics for settings !
2xSpiralCut_OK.jpg
2013-3-5 03:23
2xSpiraleCut_not_OK.jpg
2013-3-5 03:23

The support say they is a problem in ZW3D and we should use "follow_outward".
But the "spiral_outward" is much better, round ways and better entry in the material.

Next problem is 2xProfile.
Just make this settings an page 2 parameters:
Cleanuptype: "Single Finish Cut" OR "Cut with levels"
RadiusOffset

In page 1 parameters :
"by area" ... hope this is the correct word.

The first "turn" is correct, then ZW3D will turn off RadiusOffset with G40 and turn on with G40 without any space.
The machine will set the radiusoffset and damage the contour.
Why the cutter will turn 2 times and will set the G41 wrong like in 2x spiralcut ?

Is there a way to fix this and the 2xspiralcut problem in 2012 SP2 ... like update/edit some config files ???

Rank: 2

ZW3DUser

Assistant Engineer

posts: 64

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 2 of 21

11-03-2013 03:59 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by jansen1776 at 2013-3-11 04:02

Same problem in ZW3D 2013 !!!
Draw this like see in the picture.
Then use an 16mm milling cutter.

Fehler_Spirale_2013.jpg
2013-3-11 03:56
Zwischenablage01.jpg
2013-3-11 03:56
Zwischenablage02.jpg
2013-3-11 03:56
Zwischenablage03.jpg
2013-3-11 03:56
Zwischenablage04.jpg
2013-3-11 03:56
Zwischenablage05.jpg
2013-3-11 03:56


If i use an step value of 50% it works, if i use more or lower it do not work !
You see a G41 in the ISO code.
This is when use "side cleanup distance" and "side finsh thick"

Dont know anyone about this problem ?

Rank: 2

ZW3DUser

Assistant Engineer

posts: 64

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 3 of 21

12-03-2013 05:33 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
No one have this problem ???

Rank: 1

cutter

Newbie

posts: 56

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 4 of 21

13-03-2013 04:38 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Spiral cut has been broken since 14.5 in one way or another and complaining has done no good so far. Buying a different program however does work pretty well.

Rank: 1

Jon

Newbie

posts: 61

Registered: 2009-12-31

Message 5 of 21

13-03-2013 05:39 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Please remove Dave Ault's (cutter) comments above. Suggesting "buying a different program" is not productive.

Jon Banquer
CADCAM Technology Leaders group on LinkedIn

Rank: 2

Luurt

Assistant Engineer

posts: 29

Registered: 2012-1-5

Message 6 of 21

13-03-2013 04:27 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi John,
Buying another cad cam program is indeed not productive.
But the quality of VXpost and ZWpost until now has not been as good as the most used third party post processors used with ZW3D.
So, i do not totally disagree with Dave if he refers to the post processor only with his comment.
To be honest, we have always advised an external program because of the higher quality and quick response time of the developers in case of problems.
For ZW3D it should be of the highest importance to have their post processors bug free if they promote it to the customers.
Beware of the negative influence on the overall impression that people can get from a great CAD CAM system if the last link in the chain (post processor) appears to be the weakest.
We just sold our first seat without third party post, so please do not make me regret it.

Rank: 1

Jon

Newbie

posts: 61

Registered: 2009-12-31

Message 7 of 21

13-03-2013 04:36 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by JonBanquer at 2013-3-13 16:41

Dave Ault (cutter) has no interest in trying to help ZWSOFT make ZW3D a better CADCAM product and has bad mouthed ZWSOFT for well over a year all over the Internet as well as on his own worthless fog blog.

Here is just one of many of Dave Ault's worthless fog blog posts bad mouthing ZWSOFT and ZW3D:

http://solidedging.wordpress.com ... dirge-not-drumroll/


Jon Banquer
CADCAM Technology Leaders group on LinkedIn

Rank: 2

ZW3DUser

Assistant Engineer

posts: 64

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 8 of 21

13-03-2013 06:33 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by jansen1776 at 2013-3-13 18:38

My english is not very good, so i do not understand all.
But i understand the words "buy a other program"... but this answer will not help !

@cutter
What you mean with "Spiral cut has been broken since 14.5" ?
Is 14.5 an older VX version ?

This is not a problem from postprozessor, in the CL file the cutcom will set wrong.
We dont use the VX or ZW post.

I think its better to fix old problems and than generate new functions....or not ?

One way to fix this is, not use the cutter compensation.
1. spiralcut rouhing with no compensation, an rest material
2. profile rouhing with rest materail, like 0,2mm
3. profil finish

... but if i have many holes or something, it will be a little confused


@ZW3D Team :
Is there a way to fix this ?
Will it fix in 2013 ?

Rank: 2

Luurt

Assistant Engineer

posts: 29

Registered: 2012-1-5

Message 9 of 21

13-03-2013 07:01 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
don't know if it helps in this case, but the type of lead in used in combination with cut comp may make a difference.
If your machine control needs at least one linear move before entering an arc to apply the compensation on, you should select a lead in move that provides enough linear elements prior to entering the contour.
So perhaps a little tweaking in this area might help

Rank: 2

ZW3DUser

Assistant Engineer

posts: 64

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 10 of 21

13-03-2013 07:26 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by jansen1776 at 2013-3-13 19:29

The problem is, in this moment, the cutter compensation should not be set ! Its not a problem with the machine.
2xspiralcut will cut the first rounds without compensation and only the last with compensation. But in the example it will switch on the compensation in the middle of the part, at the beginning of cutting.
I think its not the problem wit "Safe distance" , "Engage Arc Rad" and so on...but i will test this again.

See the two pictures with the iso code.
I ONLY edit the Step Value from 50% to 49% OR INSERT AN "side cleanup distance" and then there is an G41 in the code ???
Thats not correct.

Im waiting about an answer from the ZW3D Team !

Rank: 1

cutter

Newbie

posts: 56

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 11 of 21

13-03-2013 07:55 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Luurt,
I have been a customer of VX/ZW since V9. I have made a lot of money over the years with the program BUT how do you deal with problems that exist for years and software that is falling behind. For the overall cost ZW does provide value as an entry CADCAM program but there are far more efficient things out there. For example I have had a bunch of S-7 tool steel to cut recently and the choice is legacy tool paths with ZW with AFC and slow cubic inches of material removal rates and a large engagement angle which breaks endmills or a high speed machining toolpath where I am zipping along at 139 IPM and the cutters last for roughly three hours before I change it out. Which has greater value to you?

Ha ha Jon, strike a nerve did I? To bad for you but at least I HAVE spent money with VX/ZW over the years and do know how to use the program. As for you Jon, you have not spent any money, your knowledge is limited to whatever you can learn with periodic trials of programs you never buy. Please explain to us why anyone should take you seriously? Luurt, I can verify I am a real customer whereas Jon can't and you listen to him at your own risk. Someone who does not use a program is hardly qualified to talk about it but that has never stopped Jon from speaking anyway. Ask Jon for a file to explain his viewpoint and get ready for the abuse you will receive for even daring to ask. All talk and no walk.

Rank: 2

Luurt

Assistant Engineer

posts: 29

Registered: 2012-1-5

Message 12 of 21

13-03-2013 10:01 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Reply 10# jansen1776

Yes, you are right.
The problem lies in the cl output
A job for R&D

Regards,
Luurt

Rank: 1

Jon

Newbie

posts: 61

Registered: 2009-12-31

Message 13 of 21

14-03-2013 01:12 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Please remove Dave Ault's (cutter) lies/personal attacks. They have no place on this forum.

Jon Banquer
CADCAM Technology Leaders group on LinkedIn

Rank: 1

Jon

Newbie

posts: 61

Registered: 2009-12-31

Message 14 of 21

14-03-2013 01:18 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by JonBanquer at 2013-3-14 01:19
Reply jansen1776

Yes, you are right.
The problem lies in the cl output
A job for R&D

Regards,
Lu ...
luurt Post at 2013-3-13 22:01



Without a doubt the CAM side of ZW3D is not getting the development it needs(besides the user interface). I've made this clear for well over a year now. There are some CAM improvements in ZW3D 2013 but it's no where near enough.

Jon Banquer
CADCAM Technology Leaders group on LinkedIn

Rank: 2

Luurt

Assistant Engineer

posts: 29

Registered: 2012-1-5

Message 15 of 21

14-03-2013 03:28 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Guys, for your info:
It is registered as ZDP 3083(and perhaps more archives have been created already)

Rank: 2

ZW3DUser

Assistant Engineer

posts: 64

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 16 of 21

14-03-2013 05:29 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
@luurt
what is this ?

Rank: 2

Luurt

Assistant Engineer

posts: 29

Registered: 2012-1-5

Message 17 of 21

14-03-2013 06:08 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
That means it has been registered as a problem and will be sent to R&D for fixing
Luurt

Rank: 2

ZW3DUser

Assistant Engineer

posts: 64

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 18 of 21

14-03-2013 06:17 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Ah ok.
Where can i see this ?

Rank: 2

Luurt

Assistant Engineer

posts: 29

Registered: 2012-1-5

Message 19 of 21

14-03-2013 09:00 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hmm, I think it is only for resellers
I posted the archive yesterday.
Who is your reseller for ZW3D?
I can ask support to move it to his account, so he can monitor it
Regards,
Luurt

Rank: 2

ZW3DUser

Assistant Engineer

posts: 64

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 20 of 21

15-03-2013 06:05 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
I send this problem to my reseller month ago.
Then i see that the same problem is in 2013 !
I think here are ZW3D developer and so i post this here.
Ok, hope they fix this bad bug !

Rank: 2

ZW3DUser

Assistant Engineer

posts: 64

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 21 of 21

19-03-2013 12:46 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by jansen1776 at 2013-3-19 02:55

2xProfile solved !!!

The problem is (or was) that the "Traverse Type" is set to "direct back" or something else. This in combination with some other settings makes problems !
The "directly back" option will also let other setings turn of. When i use 2xspiralcut with helical plunge, and more than one steps, then the second plunge are always is "ramp" not helical.
See also
X