CAD/CAM discussion forum > ZW3D CAM > Clearance problem (CAM module)

Clearance problem (CAM module)

    
  Subscribe Topic

Rank: 1

Didier

Newbie

posts: 35

Registered: 2011-9-9

Message 1 of 15

 Clearance problem (CAM module)
18-03-2013 06:17 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi all,

We often use SmoothFlow roughing with 20 mm Z steps with low density materials.

Paths are OK, but clearances are way too high, and do not seem relevant (much greater than Z step or security clearance). Thus, the clearance can be higher than our CNC max Z travel, without any real need.

Reducing the Z step solves the problem, as clearance seems more or less proportional to this value.

Here are 2 screenshots of the same part with a 20mm and a 10 mm Z step.

Sounds like a bug.

ZW3D 2010/ ZW3D 2013 beta 3


10 mm Z step

Degagement 10.JPG
2013-3-18 18:14

20 mm Z step

Degagement 20.JPG
2013-3-18 18:14

Rank: 2

Luurt

Assistant Engineer

posts: 29

Registered: 2012-1-5

Message 2 of 15

18-03-2013 09:09 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi all,

We often use SmoothFlow roughing with 20 mm Z steps with low density materials.

Paths are ...
CoReForm Post at 2013-3-18 18:17



Thank you for sharing this.
I have raised a few pcr's /ZDP reports on the issue, but no luck so far
Partly because these step sizes are not very common in the machining industry, I think
But in the machining of soft materials we use steps of 80mm and more.
You can imagine the required space around the product with that step sizes :-)

Luurt

Rank: 1

John

Newbie

posts: 22

Registered: 2005-12-14

Message 3 of 15

18-03-2013 09:52 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
I also raised pcr's concerning clearance issues. We machine a lot of 3d curves for decoration, with all curves being tool center. In this manner we control the depth, which varies, when we wrap them. In our current system we set a clearance distance of .100" between letters. Since depths have already been set on the cad side I have no need for a support surface on the cam side. In ZW with no support surface all retracts go to the clearance plane. With a support surface you can maintain the .100, but to have multiple depths you need multiple surfaces, time consuming and needless.

Rank: 1

Jon

Newbie

posts: 61

Registered: 2009-12-31

Message 4 of 15

19-03-2013 08:23 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Once again, I think having a ZWSOFT ZW3D CAM developer on this forum for ZW3D CAM users to interact with would make a lot of sense because the CAM part of ZW3D needs so much work. I take it the CAM developer(s)are located in Florida.

Jon Banquer
CADCAM Technology Leaders group on LinkedIn

Rank: 1

Didier

Newbie

posts: 35

Registered: 2011-9-9

Message 5 of 15

14-04-2013 10:39 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi,

This thread is nearly 1 month old, and no reply from a member of the ZW3D staff?

It seems Luurt has been waiting waiting for some time…

Can we expect some feedback?

Best regards

Rank: 1

Sam

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2012-4-10

Message 6 of 15

15-04-2013 03:41 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hello, Gentlemen,

I'm Sam, from ZW3D support team. I'm very sorry for the late reply.

Concerning this question, I recommend you set the Long Link Type to "Optimized", please refer to the picture as below. If you set this option to "Clearance" that's means the retract distance always be Cleareance Distance+Step value+Thick value. Could you please try it in your computer again.

long link.png
2013-4-15 15:41

Rank: 1

Didier

Newbie

posts: 35

Registered: 2011-9-9

Message 7 of 15

15-04-2013 04:40 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi Sam,

Thanks for your reply.

This parameter was already set to "optimized", so no change. Changing it to "clearance" has no visible effect

Clearance is set to 160, higher than the part, step value is 20, and I get effective clearance at a little more than 190.

What is the "Thick value" you are referring to?

I do not want to post the file on the forum, but I can send it to support email, if you'd like to check it.

All the best,

Didier

Rank: 1

Sam

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2012-4-10

Message 8 of 15

16-04-2013 10:18 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Hi Mr Didier,

You are welcome.

Yes, could you please send .z3 file to our support mailbox.
<ZW3D@ZWCAD.COM>

I will check it and give you the answer as soon as possible.

Best regards,

Sam

Rank: 1

Didier

Newbie

posts: 35

Registered: 2011-9-9

Message 9 of 15

16-04-2013 04:26 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi Sam,

File sent.

Best regards,

Didier

Rank: 1

Sam

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2012-4-10

Message 10 of 15

16-04-2013 04:45 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Dear Sir,

I have made a toolpath for your refernce, and send it to you by email.

Could you please check if it meeting your requset.

Best regards,

Sam

Rank: 1

Didier

Newbie

posts: 35

Registered: 2011-9-9

Message 11 of 15

17-04-2013 02:35 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Hi Sam,

Thanks, it's much better with 170 mm clearance instead of 190 mm. These 20 mm can make a big difference.

I do not know why the XY containment offset was 40% only for this part. At the time I created this CAM plan, I didn't have enough time to build clean templates. It probably came through pasting and copying from another part that required this particular value.

With 300%, which is our standard value in the newly created templates -and the value you used-, it works a lot better.

But how is this XY offset containment value related to Z clearance?

I have to admit I can't make the link and didn't have the idea to change this parameter.

Luurt, is your case similar to this one?

Best regards,

Didier

Rank: 1

Sam

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2012-4-10

Message 12 of 15

18-04-2013 12:14 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Dear sir,

Concerning the question about "But how is this XY offset containment value related to Z clearance? "I need talk about this question with our Amercian colleagues to get the point.

Here, I recommend you use the default value when create a new roughing operation.

Best regards,

Sam

Rank: 1

Didier

Newbie

posts: 35

Registered: 2011-9-9

Message 13 of 15

18-04-2013 02:55 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Sam,

"Here, I recommend you use the default value when create a new roughing operation."

We now have templates properly built and based on default values, so getting a weird parameter using copy and paste from another part may not occur.

But I'm still interested by the answer to my question as we may have to use unusual parameters for specific parts and understanding this relationship will probably help identifying the best solution.

TIA

Best regards,

Didier

Rank: 1

John

Newbie

posts: 22

Registered: 2005-12-14

Message 14 of 15

19-04-2013 02:21 . am   |   View his/her posts only
I downloaded ZW 2013 today for a trial run. I would like to say the new "Wrap To Faces" works very well and achieves the same results I have gotten from Icem. This did address an issue I have had trying to use VX/ZW.

Concerning my earlier post I have attached an example of the my clearance issue. We machine many curves, in this example the depth is constant so I can use a support surface and achieve the required depth. Which is shown in the operation 1. The chaining with .1" from the surface is what I want.

However most of our deco varies in depth based on one surface so I can not use a support surface. In this case, operation 2, all retracts go to the clearance plan, which is NOT very efficient. I know I could setup some extra planes but I think it should be much easier. The settings for each operation is the same except for a support surface.

John

operation1.jpg
2013-4-19 02:16

Operation2

operation2.jpg
2013-4-19 02:16

Rank: 1

Sam

Newbie

posts: 23

Registered: 2012-4-10

Message 15 of 15

22-04-2013 03:14 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hello John,
Could you please send .z3 file to our support emailbox(zw3d@zwcad.com), it will very helpful for me to get your point about this question.
Thank you in advance.

Sam
See also
X