CAD/CAM discussion forum > ZW3D CAM > ZW3D 2014 Beta CAM 2.5D Operations

ZW3D 2014 Beta CAM 2.5D Operations

    
  Subscribe Topic

Rank: 1

ZW3DUser

Newbie

posts: 59

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 1 of 7

 ZW3D 2014 Beta CAM 2.5D Operations
16-02-2014 07:29 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Hello.

I want make an 2.5D Profile Operation.
On this, the move from Z0 to Z-20 (example), will use always feed an not rapid.
If i change "Plunge" from 20% to "rapid" in speed/feed table, the Z- movement will use RAPID, but the first arc to the part will also use RAPID !
Why the Z moves and the X/Y move not separated on the speed/feed table ?
This is the same problem in ZW3D 2012, or is there a other way ?

Second question :
I try the manual lead mode.
If i use this, there are no G41 or G42 in the program code, so the radius offset will not work.
I get the message:
NOTE: Cutcom radius offset option apply to tangent to boundary option only.

What are the correct settings to use a manual lead in/out and radius offset?

Rank: 9Rank: 9Rank: 9

Steven

Manager

posts: 6

Registered: 2011-7-4

Message 2 of 7

17-02-2014 03:17 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Thanks for your feedback. We really have the problem in 2.5D milling. We will try to correct the issues in the following development plan.
if you have further question, please feel free to contact us. :)

Rank: 1

ZW3DUser

Newbie

posts: 59

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 3 of 7

18-02-2014 02:02 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by jansen1776 at 2014-2-18 02:07

Not good to hear :-(
First problem is since 2012 (or earlier?)
The second in 2013, 2013SP and now in 2014 Beta.
Please take a little Time from your 3D work to the 2,5D area !

Please allow more lead in option with radius compensation !
New machines look forward to the NC code an can calculate lead-in and lead-out without ARC.
But ZW3D only allow (i think) 3 options with radius-compensation.

Rank: 2

Stefano

Assistant Engineer

posts: 15

Registered: 2011-12-30

Message 4 of 7

19-02-2014 01:37 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Much work to do in CAM area , much much work to do in 2.5D CAM .

Rank: 1

JasonPi

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2014-2-19

Message 5 of 7

19-02-2014 10:44 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Reply 1# jansen1776


For 1st problem, please try to set "Bottom Clearance" under Link to 0.0 to move rapid to the bottom.

Rank: 1

ZW3DUser

Newbie

posts: 59

Registered: 2013-2-8

Message 6 of 7

21-02-2014 09:12 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by jansen1776 at 2014-2-21 21:23

Post Last Edit by jansen1776 at 2014-2-21 21:22

Post Last Edit by jansen1776 at 2014-2-21 21:17

Post Last Edit by jansen1776 at 2014-2-21 21:15

I hope i set the correct parameter (i have the German version) but it do nothing ! It will move to the top of the part in RAPID, standard value is 2.5, only this 2.5mm are now "faster".

I always use the top of the part to make an profile. If i use the bottom of the part for the profile, then the cutter move to the bottom with rapid. But then i can not use 2 or more cuts in Z !
The only way i found is the "bottom thickness". If i want to cuts and the rapid move in Z, i must selekt the profile at the bottom of the part and must set this bottom thickness.

I think its not a problem for ZW3D to separate the Z feed from the first arc feed !

Now some pics :

Feed1.jpg
2014-2-21 21:09

Here i set to 0.0 if this is the parameter you wrote about. Feed is set to 100%.


Feed2.jpg
2014-2-21 21:09

Here i use RAPID, but then the cutter use RAPID to move in X/Y to the part !
Hm have one idea, later i will try to set RAPID and the "clearance" in X/Y bigger. But i think this will do nothing.

Feed3.jpg
2014-2-21 21:09

Here i use the profile at the bottom of the part and the "Bottom Thickness" value.
Works, but i think a separated feed for Z move is much easier.

The feed values name is "Eintauchen", in english: "plunge" or "dive in" ???
Now that have nothing to do with the first move in X/Y !

This short correction is not a hard work for ZW3D, and then let the user enable "cutter compensation" to all lead-in options and i am happy ! Or let it define in the ZW3D Setup. So if i have a machine that can use G41/G42 with a 90 degree line (like an old MAHO) let the user use this ! I think its not a problem for the user to test this.

Rank: 1

JasonPi

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2014-2-19

Message 7 of 7

22-02-2014 02:00 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Agree. Plunge along Z and lead-in in XY should be separated. Bottom Clearance defines the safe plane above Top. It only offers limited control to Top.
See also
X