CAD/CAM discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > picking faces as constraints

picking faces as constraints

    
  Subscribe Topic

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 1 of 7

 picking faces as constraints
05-08-2004 01:28 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Sometimes I am unable to pick faces during constraint assignment. VX appears to be applying a pick filter at random. This appears to be a bug, but I'm not sure. In these cases, if I exit all the way out of vx and go back in, I can pick the faces and apply the constraint I was looking for. Anyone else notice this?

Thanks

Steve

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 2 of 7

05-08-2004 09:53 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi Steve

This is a known graphics handling problem. You should find that v9.61 is OK and forthcoming v10 is OK.

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 3 of 7

17-08-2004 11:44 . am   |   View his/her posts only
problem still there in 10.01. Am I doing something wrong?

steve

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 4 of 7

17-08-2004 01:26 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi Steve

No, it can't be you. It may be VX, it may be the OpenGL capability of your graphics card. VX requires "full" OpenGL, not just the sub-set that some cards support for games etc. In VX, UtilitiesConfig, Display Tab, tick the "Software OpenGL driver" option. See if that makes a difference in face constraint picking. If it does and the software driver has not slowed things down too much, great. If it does not make a difference, we will need to know the exact spec of your graphics card.

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 5 of 7

17-08-2004 02:01 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
thanks chris, I'll give it a try.

It seems strange that the problem is intermittent.

steve

Rank: 1

Steve

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 6 of 7

17-08-2004 05:07 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
I installed the latest driver (6.1.7.7 dated 7/15/04) for the Nvidia geForce FX 5200 card with openGL 1.5 support. Still seeing the same issue. Also, ckecking the "software OpenGL driver" box in VX configuration didn't seem to help.

steve

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 7 of 7

18-08-2004 11:01 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Hi again Steve


<DIV>That's handy, I have a card of the same spec (not used that particular PC for assembly work). I think the problem is not so intermittent - if it is the same as earlier releases, then we seem to have difficulty in clearing previously used memory and hence eventually, the faces cannot be highlighted. Chances are that this behaviour is specific to certain cards, since the revised code passed the tests in Florida. I will see if I can reproduce the problem here, thank you for your input and apologies for the problem.</DIV>
See also
X