Bending a solid

Subscribe Topic

Bob

Message 1 of 7

Bending a solid
07-08-2004 06:37 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
I am completely new to the program and would like to ask a few question about freeform curve and solids.
I mainly design molds for wakeboards, snow skis, snowboards, etc. (Using no associative freeform sofware) This is called compression molding. The big thing in this industry is the change from molded cores to cnc machined cores. These cores are machined out of light weight Divinacell in the flat condition. When they go into the mold they bend to the rocker shape of the finished mold cavity.
Here is my question: Does VX have the capability to design the actual finish mold in the flat position and then bend the rocker into the solid model. The advantage is that
you can design the mold flat, offset the solid inwardly for the fiberglass and outside top and bottom sheets, export the core solid and then bend the original model
into the final shape to make the actual finished part mold cavity .
There is a command in Pro Engineer called spinal tweak in which you define a shape with a spline and use it to bend the solid model. I have no idea how to use it but I have seen it done on wakeboards and it works pretty well. I am guessing the it is a "tweaking" process since you start getting into stretch like sheet metal parts but this isn't
going into space so things are a bit more forgiving.

Is there anything in VX that is simlar to this command or is there any requests for a command of this nature for future releases?

Is anyone out there building freeform shapes like this in VX. I could probably use some pointers on building this kind of thing in VX.

Thanks

Kevin

Message 2 of 7

09-08-2004 04:28 . am   |   View his/her posts only