CAD/CAM discussion forum > ZW3D CAD > Assigning Layers

Assigning Layers

    
  Subscribe Topic

Rank: 1

eric5935

Newbie

posts: 11

Registered: 2013-11-7

Message 1 of 4

 Assigning Layers
05-05-2014 12:35 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Post Last Edit by eric5935 at 2014-5-5 13:42

How can faces/objects be assigned to layers? When I follow the steps here http://help.zwsoft.com/en/zw3d/articles/article-379.html to assign faces of an object to a layer, the layer pull down is disabled (grayed out), so I can't select it.

To reproduce this behavior using ZW 2014, do the following:
1. Create a block
2. Click on the layer manager and create a "block" layer
3. Select one or more faces on the block and note that the layer changes to "Layer0000" and is grayed out


Any ideas on what step I'm missing here?

Thanks,
Eric

Rank: 5Rank: 5

William

Top Influencer

posts: 273

Registered: 2010-10-28

Message 2 of 4

05-05-2014 01:54 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi Eric,

Thank you for your trust, there were a little bit things changed in ZW3D 2014 version, but the help document doesn't update yet.

Only the independent entity can be assigned to specify layer, such as solid shape, surface shape. I guess what you selected the face were belong to the whole Block, they can't be assigned to layer unless you explode them.
2014-05-05_13-52-46.jpg
2014-5-5 13:57



2014-05-05_13-52-57.jpg
2014-5-5 13:57

Rank: 1

eric5935

Newbie

posts: 11

Registered: 2013-11-7

Message 3 of 4

05-05-2014 03:00 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Thank you William! Selecting "Shape" works perfectly! I was previously selecting either an individual face or shift-selecting all faces on a shape.

-Eric

Rank: 5Rank: 5

William

Top Influencer

posts: 273

Registered: 2010-10-28

Message 4 of 4

05-05-2014 03:30 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Reply 3# eric5935


You are welcome, I am great to help you .JJJ
See also
X