PLUNGE MILLING

    
  Subscribe Topic

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 1 of 10

 PLUNGE MILLING
08-09-2005 04:01 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Any VX users out there have any expience with plunge milling?

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 2 of 10

13-09-2005 10:10 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Hi George

I think it is a fairly popular method of removing large amounts of material in deep-cavity mold tools. What are you trying to do?

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 3 of 10

13-09-2005 11:55 . am   |   View his/her posts only
I have a tool that will only take a .350 max step. The VX run time is 7 times longer than using a feed mill. Does that seem right?

Rank: 1

randy

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-5-21

Message 4 of 10

14-09-2005 10:10 . am   |   View his/her posts only
George,

I my experience, the feedmill from Iscar removed more cubic inchs of material per hour than a plunge mill and it did it more reliably for unattended machining. That was 2 years ago, tooling improves as rapidly as software. They may be able to handle more IPR and give you a greater material removal rate.
The hardest part to calculate in plunge milling is how long does it acctually take to rapid out and position. In quickmill you can set these values to high feedrates to get a better time study, if you typed RAPID in the retract feedrate you may be getting inaccurate times. The same goes for the retract default of 300%, this would take longer because there are many retracts in plunge milling. I would first figure out the maximum feedrate that your machine will travel and figure out what percentage of the feedrate you need to type in "retract" to get that number.
The rough offset 2d is in feed mode a large percentage of the time and thus provides a very accurate time of the actual cutting conditions with few retracts.

Hope this helps.

Randy Biebel
VX Corporation

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 5 of 10

15-09-2005 09:20 . am   |   View his/her posts only
I think an issue with VX too is that if you set the step over for .200 it will take a step .200 by .200 not .200 by the full cutter dia. of say 2" for example. I have spoke to some other people that have very good results with plunging and their software will go .200 by the full width of the cutter.

Rank: 1

Dan

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-26

Message 6 of 10

19-10-2005 04:49 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
that's true George is definetly the case with VX to assume a square grid with .2 length.

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 7 of 10

02-11-2005 10:52 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Why?

Rank: 1

Robert

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 8 of 10

02-11-2005 10:53 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
George,

Dan was agreeing with you and I believe we're working on providing a more efficient solution.

I think it'll be available in version 12 (currently in beta-test, should be released with two months).

thanks,

bobf

Rank: 1

Dan

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-26

Message 9 of 10

04-11-2005 03:40 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Exactly how bob4fun explained we already implement something for that. A new step along for Roughing Lace and Offset2D that gives you ability to advance plunging with smaller steps along the path is now in place. This gives the benefit of comming from outside to inside helping chip removal.

We hope to hit V12 with this last minute enchancement for you.

Rank: 1

Dan

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-26

Message 10 of 10

04-11-2005 03:54 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
and the answer for:

"Why?"

is:

Because if you don't plunge in the same place on all levels it is possible near vertical walls to don't retract enough and due to big side cusp height to break the tool. This is the reason why is used a grid to hit exactly the same spot on all levels. Obvious a hexagonal grid would be a better choice but would still not solve the squared running time problem raised by you here.

I have in my mind now a better cycle based on a projectd lace cycle but isn't so easy to implement fast so sadly would not hit V12.0.
See also
X