Subscribe Topic

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 1 of 30

 verify
28-02-2006 07:48 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
does anyone know what it means when vx says it can't verify, stock is self intersected?

Rank: 1

Robert

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 2 of 30

28-02-2006 09:12 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Generally this happens when your stock has concave features.

I've had trouble myself when this happens but it seems to be a problem with our implementation of the Machineworks library.

Please send the file to support@vx.com so that we can verify.

thanks

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 3 of 30

28-02-2006 09:23 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi gjohn

A rapid verify should still be possible. If the stock has holes/cut-outs in the sidewalls (perhaps for clamping), replace it with a simplified stock to allow solid verify to work. When the stock is effectively an offset volume of a curved part, this will sometimes be picked-up as self-intersecting too. Again, if you can define a simplified version of the stock (for example, taking out a concave underside), verify will work.

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 4 of 30

28-02-2006 10:41 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
bob4fun,
What do you mean by "it seems to be a problem with our implementation of the Machineworks library"?

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 5 of 30

01-03-2006 06:57 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Hi gjohn

MachineWorks is a software code library that the VX developers have used. We need to improve our use of this code to get better stock recognition from it.

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 6 of 30

01-03-2006 09:45 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Chris,
I know this has been brought up before. Can you give it more gas too? Also, do you feel that VX verify gives a true represntation of what is going to be machined?

Are there any advanced VX cam classes offered?

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 7 of 30

01-03-2006 10:49 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi gjohn

Solid Verify is a maturing technology and I believe it can be very representative of the actual machining, but of course your post processor can change things. As an industry, we are still looking for the quantum leap that will deliver faster verification.

Concerning VX CAM classes, please contact your Reseller. The developers are making great progress in their effort to make VX CAM more accessible, but of course there is a lot in there and thus still a lot to learn.

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 8 of 30

29-06-2006 12:08 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
verify seems to still have some issues. I can start to rapid verify and it does fine for several tools but every now and then I get a tool path that says self iintersected and will not verify. This seems to be worse on jobs that are more complex or longer. I know I have asked about this before but it is a problem.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 9 of 30

30-06-2006 08:18 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi gjohn

What VX version are you using?

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 10 of 30

10-07-2006 10:07 . am   |   View his/her posts only
I am using vx 12.46. I just downloaded 12.5 to see if anything is different. I have to say that I do not like 12.46 and am hoping that 12.5 is better otherwise I am going back to 11.5.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 11 of 30

10-07-2006 10:48 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Hi gjohn

On the CAM side, there is not a huge amount of difference between v12.46 and v12.50. However, v12.55 is not too far away and that has a raft of CAM fixes. Did you forward your problem file to support?

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 12 of 30

10-07-2006 11:15 . am   |   View his/her posts only
It is hard to send our files, they take too long to send. I am not doing anything different from 11.5 to 12.46 other than using 12.46. Nothing is more frustrating than using software that works fine until a new version comes out and everything goes to heck. it seems like alot of these things could be caught in beta testing.

Rank: 1

randy

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-5-21

Message 13 of 30

10-07-2006 10:48 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
George,

That sounds frustrating. May I suggest making an stl file of your part in the rough state. After your roughing tool runs, click on options and name the file like "rough stock1" or something, you'll see VX report back that it exported OK, then go up a level, create a new part with the MM template (stls are in MM) import the "rough stock1.stl" file, call it stock in your attributes and change your preferences back to inch (if you work in inch) then bring in the file to your camplan. Now you can watch VX rough one step at a time, perhaps this may help, you just have to export and reimport to update your stock model. This may work for you. If you are still having issues be sure and let us know.

Regards,

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 14 of 30

11-07-2006 07:02 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Randy,
Thanks for the suggestion, but why should I have to do that? If it will verify one operation why not all of them?

See attached file, it fails at operation 10

Rank: 1

randy

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-5-21

Message 15 of 30

12-07-2006 07:37 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Dear George,

Thank you for posting the file. You are absolutly correct, there is an issue with VX and Solid Verify, it appears to be worse after I use up my RAM and it must start to write to the hard drive. 1 gig of RAM is not quite enough for this part. If I verify till operation 8, (I'm out of ram) then create a stl stock file, exit VX, and bring in the new "stl stock" and verify from there it works.
We turned in a PCR to get this bug resolved.
Right now it appears you either need to add more RAM or export and verify in sections. I can only appologize for the hassle.

Best Regards,

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 16 of 30

13-07-2006 02:05 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Randy,
I have 2 gig of RAM now and I was able to get to operation 10.

Rank: 1

OldForumPost

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2012-1-14

Message 17 of 30

13-07-2006 05:36 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Dear Gorge,

The problem is fixed, that means it should work also without 2GB RAM. It is fixed with VX 12.55 ... that version will come at the middle of August.

Thank you for your patience.

Best Regards

Thomas

Rank: 1

Mike

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2006-1-9

Message 18 of 30

14-08-2006 08:59 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Is the version posted in the current release section the fix for this?


Thanks,

Mike Leslie
Falcon Corporation

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 19 of 30

14-08-2006 01:46 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hello Mike

The fix is scheduled for version 12.55, along with many other bug fixes in both CAD and CAM. v12.55 is not yet ready, we are still dealing with a few problems. Apologies for the delay - we are doing everything we can to release as soon as we can, but we must get the QA issues right.

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 20 of 30

16-08-2006 07:05 . am   |   View his/her posts only
The sooner the better

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 21 of 30

16-08-2006 12:40 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
We have increased our QA this year and so it is very dissappointing that our v12 product has not reached the levels of reliability of previous versions. Overall, v12 really is a "match winner", and we can state with pride that we are leading the way in CAD-CAM innovation (indeed, you will see immitations of VX functionality in many rival programs - one of them has even copied a couple of my Vx DAL programs!). Thanks to all our customers for waiting so patiently for us to sort things out. If anyone knows where we can get a bulk supply of grey hair treatment..........

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 22 of 30

18-08-2006 07:17 . am   |   View his/her posts only
We need some too. It is good that VX is taking its time to make sure a good stable version is released. I think we would all rather see fewer releases that are more stable.

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 23 of 30

02-11-2006 07:58 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Can anyone verify that the verification issue is fixed? I am still having issues with it. I have to make sure that programs are good before sending to the machine and I can't do that if it fails on me. I get Error: Failed to extract solid from machining session. Even though I have saved the stock and started to verify again.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 24 of 30

02-11-2006 09:27 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Hi George

The issue in this forum thread was to do with perceived self-intersections in the stock model - even though there were no intersections, the underlying code "detected" them.

I have not seen "Error: Failed to extract solid from machining session" before - can you tell me exactly when the error occurs? It is probably worthwhile emailing a stripped-down file that has the problem so that we can study it.

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 25 of 30

02-11-2006 09:43 . am   |   View his/her posts only
I think that the two are related. I was able to get the verify to work by saving a stock, do a file save, completly close VX and reopen it, call up the saved stock and it seems to work so far. This is a long workaround.

Rank: 1

Robert

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 26 of 30

02-11-2006 11:55 . am   |   View his/her posts only
My tests with intersecting stock indicate that this problem has been fixed.

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 27 of 30

02-11-2006 03:00 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
My everyday work on large files indicates that there is still something wrong in 12.55.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 28 of 30

02-11-2006 04:35 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi again George

The file save bit certainly rings a bell, and that should be sufficient - there should be no need to shut down VX. Are you using Session Management?

Rank: 1

george

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-3-1

Message 29 of 30

03-11-2006 10:31 . am   |   View his/her posts only
No, I do not use session management.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 30 of 30

03-11-2006 10:58 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Hi George

OK, using Session Management or not, as with any program handling large amounts of data, it is important to save file regularly.





The problem symptom and the solution you found suggests that your PC ran out of resources at that time. VX Session Management is designed to avoid this by minimising the amount of geometry loaded to memory to only the items being edited/manipulated at any time. You can activate Sessions via Utilities/Configuration/General. It is important to Save Session frequently because until a Session is saved, your current work is stored in memory only. When you Save Session, a temporary file is saved on the hard drive. When you Save File, the current work in the Session (Data in memory and data in temporary file on hard drive) is synchronised and added to the main VX file on the hard drive.





See also
X