Subscribe Topic

Rank: 1

Ryan

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2010-1-18

Message 1 of 11

 Windows 7
19-01-2010 03:18 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
I run the monarch jewelry program. I have built a nice machine for my rendering, but it has windows 7. I just wanted to double check, I think I read this in one of the post, I have to run vx in xp mode, is that correct? Also, will I have an issue floating my dongle back in forth from an xp machine and a 7 machine? Anyone thoughts on this will be greatly appreciated.

Rank: 1

Mike

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-28

Message 2 of 11

19-01-2010 03:31 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
jewelrychief,

Windows 7 is working with VX. A number of customers have it already and are very pleased.
You do have to run VX in XP SP2 compatibility mode. You only have to set this manually on the 64 bit OS. We set it in 32 bit OS.
Right-click on the VX shortcut > Properties > Compatibility.
VX V14.3 will install with this setting already fixed.

On the dongle question, just make sure that you let windows install the driver.

Rank: 1

Ryan

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2010-1-18

Message 3 of 11

19-01-2010 03:56 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Thanks so much Mike you are always quick to get back to me. I do have it running 64 bit so I will make sure and check that. Also, will the hasp driver have to be reinstalled to the dongle key everytime I switch from the xp machine to the 7 machine, if so, are you certain that it will not affect the dongle?

Rank: 1

Mike

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-28

Message 4 of 11

19-01-2010 04:05 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
The driver gets installed on the computer one time. Once it is there, as long as you use the same USB port, the system will always see your dongle. So going back and forth is not an issue.

PS By the way, Windows 7 will be officially supported in VX v14.30.

Rank: 1

Ryan

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2010-1-18

Message 5 of 11

19-01-2010 04:38 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
thanks for the inside info. I was trying to figure out if I need to purchase the full version of pro or just the upgrade. I thought I had the pro version, but I only have the home premium version. Maybe I should just wait for 14.3 to come out. You couldn't tell me how long that will be could you?

Thanks again Mike.

Rank: 1

Mike

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-28

Message 6 of 11

19-01-2010 04:43 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
As a matter of fact, I can. Sort of... I can't give you an exact date but in about a month.

Rank: 1

Ryan

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2010-1-18

Message 7 of 11

29-01-2010 10:47 . am   |   View his/her posts only

Rank: 1

cutter

Newbie

posts: 56

Registered: 2011-11-23

Message 8 of 11

01-02-2010 08:45 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Mike,
Just curious here about XP SP2. I have been running VX on SP3 for some time now. Is there some sort of limit as to which version of XP is available in compatability mode? By the way, 14.3 looks very good so far and no problems to report on my end.

Rank: 1

Robert

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 9 of 11

01-02-2010 08:56 . am   |   View his/her posts only
There's no guarantee that the Monarch program will run on 14.3

Please contact John Cavallo at jcc@monarchjewelrycad.com for further information regarding compatibility.

thanks,

bobf

Rank: 1

Mike

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2002-8-28

Message 10 of 11

01-02-2010 09:38 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Mr. cutter,

There is some reason I suggested SP2 over SP3 but for the life of me I can't put my finger on it right now. Someone with the 64 bit OS ran into a problem using SP3.

Rank: 1

ChrisWard2k2

Newbie

posts: 2

Registered: 2011-11-22

Message 11 of 11

01-02-2010 10:21 . am   |   View his/her posts only

I do not run WinXP64 but I think the SP3 problem may only have been temporary, where a Microsoft "patch Tuesday" update upset the apple cart slightly for a few applications (OpenGL?) but was later put right by a subsequent update. Vendor application life is very difficult on Windows these days - not just that so many OS versions need to be supported, but at any time Microsoft may be obliged to rush-out a security patch, which is done so fast that none of the vendors can conduct any testing before their customers have their OS changed. Sign of the times, there are so many clever people out there that think it is funny to contaminate your PC with a virus. Grrr.
See also
X