CAD/CAM discussion forum > 3D CAD/CAM > Contact Dist[ance]

Contact Dist[ance]

    
  Subscribe Topic

Rank: 1

warren

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-28

Message 1 of 4

 Contact Dist[ance]
19-08-2011 06:30 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hello,

Has anyone had any luck with the "Contact Dist" option for the stepover type in any of the toolpaths? I have tried and tried and only get a "ALERT: Invalid step type" error.

Rank: 5Rank: 5

Tony_ZWSOFT

posts: 44

Registered: 2011-8-22

Message 2 of 4

21-08-2011 10:08 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Dear Warren,

Thank you for your question, I found that we could use "Contact Dist" for controlling the tool-paths in some strategies, such as Mapcut, Isocut and Planecut, etc.
As you talking about, when we setting the "Contact Dist" for some stategies(such as Spiral rough and peeling cut), we could only get a "ALERT" : Invalid step type" error. I am not sure if those strategies are supposed to use this option. I would follow up this issue and inform you as soon as possible when I got the solution of it.

Thank you

Tony Tan

Rank: 1

warren

Newbie

posts: 0

Registered: 2004-10-28

Message 3 of 4

24-08-2011 12:30 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hello Tony,

The option "Contact Dist" is available for almost all the strategies. I would suggest if the contact distance stepover option is not available for certain toolpaths then the option should not be shown.

Rank: 5Rank: 5

Tony_ZWSOFT

posts: 44

Registered: 2011-8-22

Message 4 of 4

24-08-2011 08:25 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi Warren,

I agree with you, I had sent this requirement to our R&D department.
Thank you.
See also
X