User
 Forgot password?
 Register
Search
Forum ZW3D ZW3D CAD Content

[Discuss] ZW3D vs IronCAD

Post time 2019-5-21 13:04:18
Hi everyone,

I am a 12-year freelance 3D designer and I'm looking into a new CAD software investment. Two candidates here: ZW3D and IronCAD. I've tried both of the trial versions but with limited time only. I know you'll never really know the pros and cons of any CAD solution until you've spent at least 1-yr continuous learning and using.

So far I'm on the ZW3D side because I like the diverse capabilities of it (CAD + CAM + some reverse engineering), and the price is also much cheaper than the IronCAD. ZW3D also seems to have more online resources to learn and participate. IronCAD doesn't have an official open forum like this. You need to buy it before they create an account for you.

All that said, the way that IronCAD models shape like the Microsoft Visio impressed me. It looks much faster than any other CAD software I've ever seen.

So is there anyone who has used both of them for a long period of time? Can you share some thoughts about these two CAD solutions?

Thanks.

Acon
@Acon
I use Both ZW3D and IronCAD.
To be honest I would need more information about how you use CAD.
By that I mean:
Do you use parametrics when you work?
Do you need solid rendering capabilities without an addon?
Do you need mid to high level surfacing?
Do you need history based modeling?
Do you need built in CAM?

Phil
Post time 2019-5-22 05:31:02
Watching this with interest....
Cheers
Paul
Post time 2019-5-22 15:06:39
philan3916 replied at 2019-5-22 00:02
@Acon
I use Both ZW3D and IronCAD.
To be honest I would need more informatio ...

Hi Phil,

Good to know that there is a user familiar with both products.

(1) Do I use parametrics when I work?