CAD/CAM discussion forum > CAD > ZWCAD 2017 as default program along with ZWCAD Classic

ZWCAD 2017 as default program along with ZWCAD Classic

    
  Subscribe Topic

Rank: 3Rank: 3

attila7056

Junior Engineer

posts: 20

Registered: 2016-6-3

Message 1 of 8

 ZWCAD 2017 as default program along with ZWCAD Classic
28-02-2017 08:20 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Hi Everyone,
I am using both ZWCAD Classic (installed firstly) and ZWCAD 2017 on my computer. They have the same exe file (zwcad.exe).
How can I make ZWCAD 2017 as default program for dwg-s?

Thanks for your help!

Attila

Rank: 5Rank: 5

Jeffrey_ZWCAD

posts: 528

Registered: 2015-6-9

Message 2 of 8

03-03-2017 12:04 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Reply 1# attila7056


Hi, upon opening ZWCAD 2017, is there a dialog box name File Association Warning prompted? In the dialog box, you can associate .dwg files with ZWCAD 2017.

Rank: 3Rank: 3

attila7056

Junior Engineer

posts: 20

Registered: 2016-6-3

Message 3 of 8

07-03-2017 07:19 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Reply 2# withje8478
Hi,I am afraid it's gone. During of my trying period of ZWCAD 2017 I had checked it for ZWCAD Classic.
Should I reinstal ZWCAD Classic?

Thanks,
Attila

Rank: 4

Goran

Senior Engineer

posts: 92

Registered: 2011-7-16

Message 4 of 8

08-03-2017 01:45 . am   |   View his/her posts only
Start Windows Explorer, find any *.dwg file. Right click on dwg file, then click Open with and inside that click Choose defult program... . In next window find Zwcad 2017, or if you're not sure that this is a zwcad 2017, click on Browse button, then find zwcad.exe in c:\Program Files\Zwcad 2017 (or c:\Program Files (x86)\Zwcad 2017 if you have a 32 bit zwcad on 64 bit Windows).

Rank: 3Rank: 3

attila7056

Junior Engineer

posts: 20

Registered: 2016-6-3

Message 5 of 8

08-03-2017 09:10 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Reply 4# goranP
Hi,
I did it and the same thing: making the ZWCAD.exe (choosing from the .../Program Files/ZWCAD 2017 directory) as default, the dwg opens with ZWCAD Classic.I think I must reinstall it.

Thanks,
Attila

Rank: 4

Goran

Senior Engineer

posts: 92

Registered: 2011-7-16

Message 6 of 8

10-03-2017 01:54 . am   |   View his/her posts only

Rank: 5Rank: 5

Jeffrey_ZWCAD

posts: 528

Registered: 2015-6-9

Message 7 of 8

13-03-2017 01:55 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Reply 3# attila7056


Hello Attila, Have you tried Goran's method above <https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us ... 154#post_install>;?
I tried the the method of setting the default program in Control Panel and it works.
IC420415.png
2017-3-13 13:54

Rank: 3Rank: 3

attila7056

Junior Engineer

posts: 20

Registered: 2016-6-3

Message 8 of 8

13-03-2017 08:38 . pm   |   View his/her posts only
Reply 7# withje8478

Hi,Thank you for trying to help me. I am afraid the method you wrote is too complicated and not really works under Windows 10 (as I've read correctly), neither the "Control Panel" method.
There is no unique exe file for ZWCAD 2017 neither for ZWCAD Classic. This could be the main problem.


All the best,
Attila
See also
X